Our trip to Koh Lipe! Part #1

in #travel6 years ago

So many obstacles lately preventing me from posting.. My lap top charger burned out so I couldn't really use steem much while on the Islands. Now I came back home to the 'lovely' internet of Sky broadband.. which as per usual wasn't working for a few days. Now that it does I'm gonna share with you some of my Koh Lipe experiences. 

This place is simply amazing. A hidden jewel as most people say! It is pretty hard to get there though and returning from there is even harder because of flight times. It took us about 7-8 hours from Bangkok to Koh Lipe. We took a plane, then a bus and finally a speed boat. But oh boy was it worth it! There are 3 beaches on the island and quite a few smaller islands surrounding it with lots of spots for snorkelling, diving or simply enjoying the sun on the warm sand. 

  

Akira resort


This resort was a bit more expensive than what we've booked so far but it looked so nice and the name Akira reminded me of that good old anime so I couldn't miss it! Just like on the other islands there was a person waiting for us when we arrived at Koh Lipe, holding a sign with the name of our resort. From there we got into a transporting vehicle (something like a motorbike with attached area for passengers to sit in with a roof.. not a tuk tuk) that took us to our hotel. 


Source
Our room was in one of these buildings and this pool turned out to be the biggest pool on the Island. It was pretty cool because even after it was dark the lights there were strong enough to let people swim. The room was enormous but cozy.. (the bathroom was bigger than my room in the UK..). Unfortunately we were on the second floor so we couldn't jump straight in the pool.. or maybe we just didn't want to try through the balcony. The water wasn't deep enough anyway. 



The road from our room towards reception looked like this. Very beautiful site before we get to the main pool where the resort's bar and restaurant is. And of course the beach. 


The pool had a very nice view towards the sea. The bar was at one of the corners and there were these little seats under water that you can sit on while still in the pool and have a drink. 




Here are a few photos of the beach around the hotel. The water of the beaches here is so very clear. I've heard many times that Koh Lipe has the clearest water out of all the islands in Thailand.There were a lot of boats on this side of the island because it is the main beach where people arrive and from where all the tours take off. In front of every hotel there was a square space that was a swimming area but right next to it there were always boats around. 


The walking street was just 2-3 minutes away and it was quite big. Not as bis as Phi Phi's but there were a lot of restaurants, bars and shops around. And ofcourse - chopped Ice Cream!


Prices in restaurants around here were a lot more expensive than what we remembered from Phi Phi. I guess because of how far the island is or maybe it was because it was the water festival and it was packed with people. Still though for a resort it was rather cheap!

  

There were a lot of activities we took part in while we were here and we managed to explore all of the beaches around the island. Most of the photos are made with our Go Pro though since I couldn't carry my camera everywhere (didn't feel like it's safe while moving around in small boats). We have a ton of videos and Nat is editing and making a few clips out of these so you can stay tuned for her posts on @the.wildflower . I hope you enjoyed today's post and stay tuned for the next one! Now I better post this before Sky decides I'm better off without Wi Fi again..


Sort:  

It is a great place to relax and spend some time with a girlfriend.
I wish I had a... wait I have one! Hooray!

Hahaha well that’s a nice place to take her then.. just sayin’

Yeye, I can understand :3

This place is heaven.
I'm definitely flying there one day just because of the chopped icecream. (I'm telling that myself all the time - I wonder, when will it happen).

Well you definitely should! And the icecream they have on all the islands so wherever you go you won’t be mistaken!

You know I can't live without ice cream, ok I'm packing my bags.

Chopped ice cream? :-)
Must be yummy.

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #35! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually ☺️

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed the post! I will check out the other picks you’ve made. :)

Nice shots, especially the pedestrian ("walking") street and the boat. The shoreline with all the chairs and umbrellas looks like it would e a nice place to sit for awhile, after the tide recedes.

Thank you! We did spend more time in the pool to be honest. In the early afternoon water pulls back so there isn’t much of a choice.. you just sit back and enjoy the nice view. :)

Love the shot of that hotel pool. Just beautiful. You must have had a wonderful time!

Thank you! And I did have a great time but unfortunately it always feels like time wasn't enough. :)

Леле какви прекрасни изживявания имаш!
Толкова млад, а богат на емоции и впечатления.

Благодаря! Но докато съм млад и безгрижен е доста по-лесно да обикалям по света и да събирам такива спомени.

Сега ти е времето. Продължавай. И един ден на старини ще имаш толково спомени, че и томове книги няма да ги съберат.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56