It's A Glusher!!

in #travel7 years ago

Insights Along The Icefields Parkway


IMG_6706.JPG

Today we traversed one of the more beautifully adorned highways that I've ever sat on a car seat through, Highway 93 AKA The Icefields Parkway through Banff and Jasper National Parks in Canada. I hadn't hurled down this particular bit of lake, waterfall, towering peak, and glacier adorned asphalt since I was a kid in the mid nineties, and I had one particular destination on my mind: The Columbia Icefields.

IMG_6707.JPG

My mom visited as a kid in the seventies, me in the nineties, and I wanted my kids to visit too! It's super fun to scramble up the retreating icefield, get windbeaten, ooh and aah over the exorbantly priced tours to walk on ice, and ponder just how far the glacier has retreated since the last time you'd been there.

My children had never seen a glacier before today, so getting to share that moment with them was pretty awesome. I like to look at everything, but growing up I had a view of no less than five glaciers out of my kitchen window, used to make slushies from icebergs from the salt water glacier down the road, and could stride out onto a glacier whenever I wished. It was getting to experience the overall awe from my family, friends, and people around the world that made my day today.

IMG_6693.JPG

Although I am reasonably sure that I might have slightly irritated a few of my crew by shouting out, in a South Carolinian accent, like Wendell this dear old logger that inhabited our logging camp with us long ago did whenever he saw a glacier:

"It's a glusher! Oooeeee! Look it all that there eeeyyccce!"

Girl's got to have a bit of fun sometimes.

On a more serious note, this section of earth is uber-majestic and i definitely recommend a jaunt through all it's gloriousness!!

IMG_6641.JPG


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's glacial silt covered iPhone.


Additional apologetic addendum: Any posts that I make this week will be made from my phone, so my usual formatting and generikat's shelf footer will be on hiatus until I get home next week, sorry my dear followers, I didn't bring my laptop to the woods.

Sort:  

Today we traversed one of the more beautifully adorned highways that I've ever sat on a car seat through

Ok, I realize that later on you talk about being a kid and that is probably what you meant by sitting in a car seat but I had this image for a few seconds of a grown woman relaxing in a car seat and I lost it. 😂

Oooeee! That is quite the sight to enjoy on a trip. I'd make glacier slushies as well.

It is super cool the family tradition that you have to visit these glaciers. Hopefully your kiddos aren't too embarrassed by the South Carolinian Cougar yell and return with their offspring.

Ah lydon, I totally ride in a car seat now, feet a dangling, cooing at the scenery from the confines of my three point harness. I'm rather short don't ya know😜

Being a bit embarrassing is genetic, the kids shall endure, lol!!

Well, golly, I see it now. 😄

It is good for their health - like a daily multivitamin, lol!

Amazing view from the mother earth.

Thank you! It is an amazing place!

Wow amazing pic!!!
Thanks for share!

Oh thank you! Thanks for the comment!

wow amazing i like it

Thank you so much! Followed ya!

welcome so much

Yes! It is really beautiful

It really is gorgeous! Thank you for the comment.😊

Isn't nature magnificent? Gotta stop amidst today's distractions and take it all in every so often. :) Nice post.

It really is nice to stop and slide on the ice sometimes. And I agree with you about fleeing distraction and realizing just how small amongst the grandness we are sometimes😊! Thanks for the comment!!

I would love to visit that gods marvel one day, who knows maybe I will also loudly say: "It's a glusher! Oooeeee! Look it all that there eeeyyccce!" lol

I certainly hope you get to visit, and there is something satusfying about yelling out that glusher line, lol😂

That is certainly marvelous country there!
I have seen pictures showing the ice retreating over the decades.

It is super gorgeous, and what a difference 20years made as far as the ice retreating! Wow! It's got me wondering what the glaciers look like at my old logging camp home!

I love it ! You seem to be enjoying every bit of it . I'm kinda jealous

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41