Greetings From Banff National Park!

in #travel7 years ago

Tantalizing Tunnel Mountain Campground Views


IMG_6618.JPG

Good evening to you all! Tonight as I lie in a tent under the not quite ever dark twilight of the Alberta sky I thought I would share a couple pictures and a funny little anecdote with you all. Today was a fun day full of wandering the town of Banff, bike rides through wooded trails, and a moose sighting.

We grown ups were lounging around the fire in camp chairs after a long day of touristy pursuits. Oh candy stores you slay me, but I fudge-distracted digress. Sigh. Anyway, we were leisurely stacking the bull fecal matter while the kiddos were riding their bicycles around the campground loop most maniacally. We had just finished laughing at the man with at least $150,000 in truck and fifth wheel travel trailer cut the corner by our campsite and leave a strip of shavings off of his new trailer bumper on the pavement. As this was his second circuit around our camp loop we were most bemused.

Suddenly one of the kids burst into our camp paradise on his aluminum chariot and shouted:

"Mom! There is a bunch of moose over there!!"

He was so excited that we gave him a camera and sent him over to the other side of the loop to the little meadow the "moose"were in to take pictures. All of the kids went and looked at the majestic beasts, and as my friend and I had just ingested a huge pile of nachos, we decided an evening wildlife viewing stroll would be good for digestion.

Just as we got up to begin our evening constitutional, the aspiring wildlife photographer wheeled in to show us his work. The laughter began, for here is a picture that I snapped shortly thereafter of the "moose."

IMG_6624.JPG

Yep, it's an elk.

Lots and lots of mockery ensued.

Here's a couple more pictures, just for the matter of historical record.

IMG_6615.JPG

IMG_6621.JPG

And as always, all of the pictures in this post were taken on the author's moose hair free iPhone.

Additional apologetic addendum: Any posts that I make this week will be made from my phone, so my usual formatting and generikat's shelf footer will be on hiatus until I get home next week, sorry my dear followers, I didn't bring my laptop to the woods😉

Sort:  

I was beginning to retire for the evening when I saw a @generikat post fly into my Steemit feed.

Silly me thinking I could go to bed without reading about aluminum chariots and "moose" in the Alberta woods.

Lol, oh what a first day you have had!

Lol! That was only a small sliver of the tales that I have in store for you! Lots of things have occurred! I'm saving the Raven Squirrel smores battle of campsite H8 for my return😂!

Hope you are guided into slumber by visuals of "moose" riding bicycles! Good night!!

Lol, oh what joy to hear that!

What sweet visuals you share with me in these words.

Haha, have a blessed night yourself!

Beautiful place! I love it! Thanks for sharing your story

It is so gorgeous here! Thank you for reading and your lovely comment! Followed you!😊

nice post, the kid is a great photographer. i love the pictures

Thank you so much for the awesome comment! Followed ya!

nice share:)
I'm following you and upvoted
I'm introducing korea food and culture.
If you interested in this topic, you visit my steemit :) have a good day

Thanks! Your blog is super interesting, I look forward to reading your posts!😊 Followed you back!

Nice post!

Much gratitude to you for your kind words!😊

Very beautiful location. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you so much for the comment! It is so beautiful here, and a ton of fun to bring my kids to a place that I loved as a kid!

Followed you😊

Must have been so much fun!!
love the post!
Upvoted :)

It sure has been a lot of that fun word! Lol!

Thank you so much for the kind words and upvote😊!

Gotta love the very rare Alberta White-Bum Moose. Very rare, indeed. Sounds like the trip is off to a swimmingly great start. Have fun, if at all possible in those gorgeous surroundings. (and I can tell you've spent many a day in Alaska..."here kids, take the camera and go mess with the 2000 lb. moose." Something only a well Alaska-seasoned mother would say.) The pics are great, so no worries on not dragging the laptop all over the countryside.

Ha ha! I felt super privileged to spy such a rare species!

Lol! To be fair I told him to stay a respectful distance from the cud chewing creature😉 But you are right, having grown up in close proximity to many of these beasties, I don't get too excited when I happen upon one. However, I do love all the kid's reactions to them!

We are having a blast, today we are showing all the kids the Icefields Parkway, and as none of them have seen a glacier before it should be a joy to behold!

Hope you are doing something interesting today, I'm trying to catch up on blog and comment reading and writing before passing out each night in chez Nylon. I will get it done. Eventually. Elk at ya later, oh, that's yak😜

I've read recently that blogging after midnight in a National Park, wrapped up in a nylon cocoon in a pup tent to the chirping of Northland crickets has been rated as 'difficult' by the *I.E.B.S.I.O.I.D.D. So good luck in that endeavour. Otherwise, have lots of fun. Yaks...LOL

I'm difficult? 😜 Lol!! I'm sitting in a hail storm next to a fire that won't burn correctly typing a reply to you, definitely not elking now, yay!!

Hmm, a fire ring in a deluge of ice pellets does not add to fire efficiency? Who woulda' thunked it. And the IEBSIOIDD rates the difficulties, not me, so I would not know about these things...

Is It bad that I have absolutely no idea what the IEBSIOIDD is but totally trust its authority because of the size of its acronym? It's super weighty and stuff. Okay, the altitude and proximity to too many giggly teenage girls has wrecked me for the night. Peace out home skillet😊!

You caught me just before my bike ride.
I'm pretty sure you have just invented, or re-surfaced, the singular best saying I have heard since the 7th grade. "Peace out home skillet." I'm still snorting from that one...you just made my decade.

And no worries, you can be expected to be a bit dim-bulbed on the *I.E.R.B.S.I.O.I.D.D.
They are rather new to the world of this whole Internet thing. It's the Internet Efficiency Rating Board and Society for Improved Online Interpersonal Discussion Dynamicies A bit under-rated, but they do know their stuff.
I hope you are enjoying yourself, and no more than 17 schmores at a sitting... tends to make one a bit 'wiggy', and that gooey stuff has potential to really gum up the works of that infamous GKI-phone.

Hard to believe there are places like that left on Earth!
Probably best it wasn't a proper moose...I hear those things can be aggressive if they have babies around. But to be honest what I actually KNOW about moose isnt worth a hill of beans lol

Lol! I should have you give a safety talk to the tourists that walk right up to the wildlife to snap pics, your words of cautious wisdom are needed. Don't think they'd like a getting stomped selfie too much!

It is both gorgeous and entertaining here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42