FIESTAS del PILAR

in #travel6 years ago

Fiestas del Pilar are an annual festval celebrated in the month of October in Basilica del Pilar. This Basilica is situated in the city of Zaragoza in Spain. I could witness this festival on my way to Barcelona from Madrid.
Fiestas del Pilar means Our Lady of the Pillar. This is a weekly festival and the high point of the festival took place on October 12, 2017.
Thousands of people attend this day dressed up in traditional costumes.

Basilica del Pilar is a huge Cathedral and it is on the banks of a river.


As I mentioned before Offering of Flowers in the Cathedral is the high point of the Festival and it is a demonstration of people's devotion to Mary. thousands of people in their traditional costumes offer flowers at the statue of Virgin mary. Here an army of volunteers arrange flowers in a Pyramidal form, creating a flower mantle around the base of the Statue.

Popularity of the Offering of flowers in Zaragoza is evidenced by the large number of people that take part each year. Though the crowd was so huge I manged to enter the Basilica. Photos of the inside of the Basilica is given below:

As I had to leave the same day for Barcelona , I could not attend the Mass at the Basilica , which is usually the next day of the offering of Flowers. Next day there is also a Glass Rosary Parade in the evening . This is very popular and it consists of 29 parade Floats made entirely of glass. I indeed regret I missed those two events.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76