Barcelona City, a place you will never forget- Part1

in #travel6 years ago

Barcelona City is in Spain and it is the Capital of the Catalonia Region. I had an opportunity to visit this beautiful city during my visit to Spain. During my visit people's protest for the independence of Catalonia from Spain was going on, but I had not come across across problems of any sort. Everything was quite peaceful as usual
I was in a group and first of all we visited some of the beautiful landmarks in Barcelona. We stayed in Front Air Congress Hotel , which was indeed a very nice hotel.

It was a guided tour and the guide then took us to the famous La Sagrada Familia Basilica. It is very huge Catholic Church designed by the famous Catalan Architect Antoni Gaudi (1852 to 1926) . He could not complete the consruction as he died in a tragic accident. Construction is still going on . Gaudi's architecture is a combination of Gothic and curvilinear Art Nouveau forms. Still we could see the construction of ten more spires, each representing an Apostle. It is anticipated that the Basilica would be completed by 2026, the centenary of Gaudi's death.
This basilica was the inspiration of a bookseller by the name Joseph Maria Bocabella . Below are the pictures of the this famous Basilica.

I could not get a view of the inside of the Basilica as I had not made prior online booking for the entrance. I do really regret in missing that opportunity.

I will write more about my visit to Barcelona in Part 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98