More Interesting Asian Foods

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

BeFunky Collage2.jpg

A while back, I wrote an article about interesting foods I tried in Asia that you don’t hear much about in America (https://www.theodysseyonline.com/10-asian-foods-youve-probably-never-tried).

Here are a few other foods I didn’t mention, either because I couldn’t find good photos or they seemed a bit too bizarre.

1 Stir-Fried Eggs and Tomatoes
BeFunky-EggTomato.jpg
I’m not a huge fan of dishes that have scrambled eggs in them.

However, I’ll definitely get this again if I can find it.

As the name and photos suggest, this is basically eggs cooked with tomatoes and maybe some onions.

The tomato juice seeps into the eggs, giving it a great flavor, and the tomatoes had a surprisingly good texture.

2 Fried Scorpions on a Stick
BeFunky-collage.jpg
I tried these in a food market in Beijing.

After that (and the stuffed intestines I tried later in my trip), I pretty much lost my squeamishness about trying local foods.

The scorpions didn’t taste like much.

The frying oil had cooked most of it away, so it really just tasted like eating a shell made of cooking oil.

Maybe next time I should get a bigger one.

3 Apple Dumplings
EggTomato2.png

These are a little easier to find in the United States than the other options I’ve mentioned here.

Basically, it’s apples cooked in honey and dough.

It tastes great and since it’s not technically a dessert option, you can have it with the rest of your meal options.

4 Spicy Chicken Pizza
IMG_20150418_220037-copy.jpg

One night in Beijing, my teammates ordered a pizza.

When it came, I discovered the pizza had bits of spicy white chicken on it.

I didn't care for it, but then I'm not a huge fan of spicy foods.

5 Russian Ice Cream
IMG_20150509_222225-copy.jpg

Generally, when you buy ice cream in the United States it comes in a cardboard or plastic container shaped like a bucket or crate.

During my time in Mongolia, one of my friends bought some ice cream (I later found out it was a Russian brand) that came in a plastic bag.

The bag was like a thicker version of the bags people sell loaves of bread in, so the icre cream was shaped like a loaf.

Fortunately, it tasted great, it was just interesting to watch someone serve ice cream by cutting it into slices.

Article and Images Copyright 2018 by Gabriel Connor Salter. Feel free to share or quote as long as you attribute me as the original author.

For other fun stories about unusual experiences I had during my trip, check out this article: https://steemit.com/sunriseoverbeijing/@gcsalter/funny-tourist-moments

You can also find a book I wrote about my travels in Asia here: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07B9P48LV/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Sort:  

pocketsend:11@gcsalter, play around with the token of fun - POCKET!

Successful Send of 11
Sending Account: pode
Receiving Account: gcsalter
New sending account balance: 127525
New receiving account balance: 10
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 2ada1d22ad75f9a1805a9eee29066699a53a6dc0
Thanks for using POCKET! I am small bot and I am running this confirming code.

Successful Send of 11
Sending Account: pode
Receiving Account: gcsalter
New sending account balance: 127525
New receiving account balance: 10
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 2ada1d22ad75f9a1805a9eee29066699a53a6dc0
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running Pocket-JS confirmer code.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45