Explore India: Mumbai, A City Full Of Dreamers, Starlets, Artists And Millionaires

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello friends, I am back with my second post on Steemit. I am pretty much excited after a warm welcome and appreciation I got in my first post. I hope you all will like this one too.

I frequently communicate with the people all around the world. The thing which I observed with the most of the people is they do not know much about India or Indians. After observing the fact, I decided to write about it. So, everyone will get a chance to know about my country.

Gatewayofindiabird.jpg
Image courtesy: Instagram/bombayiger

If we are talking about the India, there wouldn’t be any better place than Mumbai to start about it. May be that is the reason Mumbai has the ‘Gateway of India’. Attraction for the tourists and pride of every Mumbaikar (residents of Mumbai).


Image: Gateway of India. Image courtesy: Famous Places In India.

It’s been more than a year when I last visited this over crowded city. But, after being there for more than six months, now I miss being the part of that crowd. That’s the charm of the Mumbai.

Mumbai (previously known as the Bombay) is the cosmopolitan metropolis, the largest city in India and the capital of Indian state, Maharashtra. It is situated in the Konkan coastline (west coastline) of India. Mumbai was originally formed as the conglomeration of the seven islands. That’s why it is known as the city of seven islands.

The thing which I found the most interesting about this city is, there are something for everyone here. No matter who you are, where you belong, you are rich or poor, what’s your profession, Mumbai has something in the pocket for you too.

churchgate.jpg
Image: Churchgate railway station. Image courtesy: Instagram/i_amlanp

This city has skyscrapers in the one hand and slums on the another. This city has over budget hotels and restaurants for the millionaires and delicious ‘vada pav’ vendors for the regular workers too. From luxurious sea-facing apartments in the high society areas to the people who lives under the bridge and sleeps on the street, Mumbai has all colors of the life. The thing common in all of them is they are alive.

Skyscrapers.jpg
Image: Beautiful evening shot of Mumbai. Image courtesy: Instagram/crazy_lenz

Marine drive’s beautiful ‘Queen’s necklace’ to Bandra-Worli sea-link, Mumbai will not miss a chance to amuse you. Famous Siddhi Vinayaka temple, Mosque and dargah of Haji Ali and Basilica of Our Lady of the Mount or Mount Mary church are few examples of the religious diversity of this beautiful place.

Queen_necklace.jpg
Image: Marine drive. Image courtesy: Instagram/worthashott

Sea-link.jpg
Image: Bandra-Worli sea-link. Image courtesy: Instagram/dpatra303

Mumbai is also home of the Indian film industry, Bollywood. You may easily find starlets, artists and struggling actors on the streets of Mumbai. People from all over the country come to this ambitious city with a dream in the eye. Fascinating thing is, nobody hates the city after living the life of this city, even though dreams of the most people shatters in the streets of the Mumbai.

Monsoon.jpg
Image: Monsoon in Mumbai. Image courtesy: Instagram/banjaaraaa

Mumbai is also famous for its colorful nightlife and never sleeping attitude. When I say never sleeping, believe me I am serious enough. This city really never sleeps. I remember my late night outings to the Churchgate station to hunt my super early morning hunger with delicious bread omelette and a cup of tea. I can spend several hours in night by sitting near the sea in Marine drive with a warm cup of tea. I remember having a long midnight conversation there with the person close to my heart. That was the feeling you cannot forget.

Mumbai_aerial.jpg
Image: Aerial view of Mumbai at night. Image courtesy: Instagram/prabhu677

I have few memories with this city. My dreams were shattered there too. Still, I have a feeling that I belong to that place, I admire the beauty of this place. An over crowded city which will compel you to love it.

If you are planning to visit India then I’ll recommend you to visit Mumbai. You may land in Mumbai as the first place in India. I hope you’ll like the city.

Share your opinion about the idea of ‘Explore India’ series. Also, tell me if you want to know more about the Mumbai. I’ll be back with the next post soon.
Peace out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51