Tasty travel (part 11). Kennebec River Brewery, The Forks, Maine.

in #travel8 years ago

My friends and I are very fortuneate to have old time friends that live in Maine. They are located near Bangor Maine and we have been able to make a few trips over during the last 18 months.One of them keeps making the trips longer and longer and I think that one of these days, He will go and never come back. Lol

We have enjoyed Maine in the Summer, Fall and Winter…we were asking when was the best time to come back in the spring to see that season too, but were told that it does not exist and we need to come back for Mud Season…not sure what that is but I bet that there is a custom brewed beer, wine or meal that will celebrate it!!

We had been on the sleds for about 50 miles when our good friend Guide Micheal told us that we needed to stop at the Kennebec River Brewery for lunch. I didn’t care where we stopped, as long as there was food!

We ordered from the specials on this day because the specials always come faster than the regular menu. I got the Roast beef Panni with Chicken Stew Soup. Yes, that is what they called it Chicken Stew Soup. It was just thick enough and still loose enough to be called both and it was filled with everything.

Then ordered the Grilled Salmon on Ceasar Salad and has you can see by the portion size of the fish, I was not disappointed. The flavor was great and subtle in this dish. Not too garlicky or fishy.

I got a fleet of beer and enjoyed sampling them all. The blueberry was a big surprise. I tasted like blueberry without the sugar aftertaste. I liked the Bobsled Red and ordered a full glass of that for each of us. What a nice semi hearty beer. Smooth finish and delightful fragrance. I wonder how easy it is to get to this place during Mud Season, I would love to have a nice glass of beer next to that fireplace and then move into the restaurant for a long supper.

                                                Happy New Year!

Sort:  

Fantastic food post. You're layout is great and I can tell you put a lot of effort into the post, great job!

Thank you very much, my dear lady! I follow you! Happy New Year!

Enjoyed. Great post :)

Thank you! Happy New Year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68086.39
ETH 2626.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67