My Trip to Budapest, Hungary 📷

in #travel7 years ago

Hello Steemers,
Two weeks ago, I went on a road trip in Europe. For ten days I visited 4 capitals cities in 4 different countries: Budapest (Hungary), Vienna (Austria), Bratislava (Slovakia) and Prague (Czech Republic).

This is my trip report of a 3-day trip in Budapest:

DAY 1 - Hungarian Parliament, the Danube and Buda's side.

On the first day we woke up early and went out to the Hungarian Parliament, which is in the city center and really close to the Danube river. This building is impressive and has a unique construction which makes him truly special.
GOPR9660_1503389960819_high.jpg

On Kossuth square, you can find not only the Parliament but also some monuments and memorials. I found the Kossuth memorial really interesting: it represents some influential statesman that contributed in the Hungarian’s state life.
GOPR9657.jpg

Then we went down to the Danube river and enjoyed that impressive view that we can have from the docks. We started to walk on the bank and on our way something caught our attention:
GOPR9668.jpg

We learnt that this is a memorial to honor the people who were killed by fascist Arrow Cross militiamen in Budapest during World War II. They were ordered to take off their shoes, and were shot at the edge of the water so that their bodies fell into the river and were carried away.

After a short lunch break, we moved to the Buda’s side of the town. You might not knowing it, but Budapest city is the combination of the cities Buda and Pest (on each side of the river), which were united in 1873. This side stayed less developed than the second one, and we can still feel some damages from the WWII. But it’s a historical and well-conserved site, where it’s enjoyable to work and discover great spots.
GOPR9689.jpg

That’s my brother and I on the photo, and behind you can catch sight of Matthias’ Church. All in the Castle area is lovely and you can for sure spend hours stroll in little streets.

DAY 2 - Pest's side, the Great Synagogue and Ruin Pubs.

On this second day we decided to focus more on the Pest’s side and spent some time in the city center. There you can find some commercial streets with many pretty shops, and you can gather around a great coffee in some bistro.
IMG-20170823-WA0002.jpg

We decided to visit the Great Synagogue, which architecture is impressive and history is really important for the city’s understanding. When you get to the place this is how it looks:
IMG-20170822-WA0024.jpg

From the inside, the synagogue’s style is a lot alike classic church, but you can notice that there’s no human representation, because it’s forbidden in the Jewish religion.
GOPR9771.jpg
GOPR9777.jpg
GOPR9752.jpg

In the backyard there are several memorials remembering the World War II victims. This memorial caught our eye: each leaf has a deportee’s name on it and new leaves are added every day.
GOPR9759.jpg

In the evening we decided to go out in most famous pubs in Budapest : Ruin Pubs, where derelict buildings and unused outdoor spaces have been transformed into friendly, pleasingly chaotic bars where you can still get a large beer for less than $2. I strongly recommend to visit one of this pubs, even if you don’t like to party much, because it’s something unique and special. Unfortunately, I don’t have pictures from that night… only of the first beer😊
Snapchat-529416363.jpg

DAY 3 - Central Market Hall and Szechenyi Baths.

On the last day and after waking up late – that was because yesterday’s Ruin Pub –, we decided on a common agreement that this day will be relaxing. We first moved to the Central Market Hall, there you can admire the building's splendid architecture, and buy authentic Hungarian souvenirs.

Then we headed to Szechenyi Baths, which are one of the biggest natural hot spring spa baths in Europe. I have to confess I didn’t really like the place, because it’s was crowded and not 100% clean, but I think it may be worth it, especially for the outdoor heated pools (that’s were I spent my afternoon).

In the end of the afternoon we took the metro to the bus station. Our next step: Vienna.

My review

Budapest is a pleasant and welcoming city with a good vibe. If you love historic monuments but also young and fresh ambiances, this is the place in Europe. For friends or a young couple, I think it’s very suitable to visit. I would definitely go back there if I have the occasion.

PS: I hope you enjoyed my trip report, if you did please subscribe and leave me a comment. These are my debuts on Steem and I expect you to help me getting my audience.
PPS: I truly apologize for the bad English, trying to get better everyday😉

Sort:  

Wow, nice trip. I was there two years ago and enjoyed every moment... it is definitely one of my favourite cities I ever visited!

Thanks, I will soon post on other trips I went to this summer (with original pics), follow if you're interested:)) I followed you back

Wow, beautiful city! Thank you for sharing! Very nice photos!

many many thanks for sharing your trip report. please upvote and follow me i really need help growing on steemit..

hi, thanks for your comment. I followed you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67167.98
ETH 3674.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76