Palau Ubin "A Sanctuary away from Home...?"

in #travel6 years ago

Hi fellow Steemians!

Finally, I have completed my first travel post and I'm very pleased to share to you my tour on one of Singapore's weekend destination, Palau Ubin. And so we begin and feel free to explore with me, hop on!.

Palau Ubin Map line art 2.jpg
Palau Ubin, jetty archway walk

Amongst all of Singapore’s interesting attractions, Palau Ubin stands among the rest, not only in history but also because of its cultural heritage. It is considered one of the last “kampong” or village that stood the test of modernization.


Palau Ubin is an island situated at the north-east region of Singapore and can be reached via a 15min bumboat ride from the port of Changi Village. The entrance to the island does not require passport or any travel documents so feel free to roam the area the moment you step onto the docking platform.

20170806_102645-1-2.jpg
Mangrove trees along the shore


As we walk along the jetty we are welcomed by the iconic archway made from timber construction. After passing through the archway, a huge map of the island stumble on our way and so we took a bit of a time to learn the route of our trek later on.
We planned to spend about half of the day to explore the place but obviously we underestimated. It may seemed small on the overall map of Singapore but its packed with attractions on every corner. For those who intend to complete the whole course of Palau Ubin, you will need a bicycle which can be rented at the shops after you exit the jetty.

20170806_103816-1-2.jpg
Sensory Trail Garden


We did not follow my advise and we went to explore by feet as we wanted to pay attention to the information markers scattered around area and be immersed with the cultural heritage of Palau Ubin. I was amazed to see how well maintained the area and it makes me feel that I was on an really remote island away from the city. I’m impressed on how the locals are really making an effort to preserve the abundance of forest and its habitat.

20170806_103520-1-2.jpg
Palau Ubin, trekking area


After few hours of trekking, we decided to get to my favorite part of the trip, “food”! There are variety of food choices in Palau Ubin, it ranges from local Chinese, Indonesian and international cuisine.

20170806_115805-1-2.jpg
Season Live Seafood Restaurant


The one that gets our attention is the Season Live Seafood Restaurant which features fresh seafood prepared in local style of cooking.

20170806_115753-1-2.jpg
Cereal Prawn


From the menu we picked Black Pepper Crab, Cereal Prawn, and some vegetables to go with it. The crab being the star of the table is considered the most pricey but it's totally worthy as it's so delicious and fiery hot. The restaurant also features alfresco dining while having a view of the ocean.

20170806_115759-1-2.jpg
Black Pepper Crab


To put in a nutshell, the variety of the activities and food choices that we can have in Palau Ubin is more than enough to make me revisit the place. It may be small in size and may not rival other attractions but it is something that I look forward to when I feel the need to relax and reminisce my olden village days. And Yes, Palau Ubin is my sanctuary away from home.


That's all for now Steemit friends!

Thank you for visiting. And I would appreciate if you would upvote & share my post.


Mr Fun Logo final option.png


"Come away with me... and we'll discover"

Sort:  

wow i like your post

Thanks @aasik Have a great day!

thanks brow you bcak me vote amd comments plzz

waiting for you in Palau - Micronesia:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59359.30
ETH 3007.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75