Travel Times 1: Boston! Where the journey began!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

This city is simply incredible! I don't remember the first time I set foot in Boston because I was born in this beautiful city but didn't live here until I was 17. The next time I came, I remember the excitement that I felt in my body. I was 17, and this city was just so young, energetic, it had something going on in every corner without the cluttered buildings as I had imagined it to be. People playing music, running outside, chatting... and ALL kinds of college sweatshirts !

When you're driving from the airport after you land at Logan, you don't know yet what is coming for you, until you drive through the city and all of a sudden the Charles River appears on your right side. You see all the sailboats, and if you're lucky you catch a pink sunset while the sailboats are out. I spent 4 years attending MIT in Boston and I don’t think I had a single day where I stopped being in love with this city. It’s not what everyone loves, but for me I love everything this city has to offer.

It really has shaped who I am, so I thought it was only appropriate to kick off my travel diary posts that I want to share with the Steem community with this first one about Boston! It’s my grounding spot :) How happy this city makes me is kind of difficult to explain in words, but I can show you with some photos from my last trip ;)

So here is the beautiful MIT Killian Court
IMG_6514.JPG

IMG_6523.JPG

If you go right across Killian court, you get to walk along the river with this beautiful view of Boston:
IMG_6521.JPG

And if you cross the Harvard Bridge, turn left on Commonwealth Avenue, you hit Fenway Park:
IMG_6524.JPG

where of course you have to try out the Fenway dog!
IMG_6530.JPG

Boston Commons is a bit of a walk from Fenway Park, but why not on a gorgeous day.
IMG_6559.JPG

And back on the Cambridge side, near Kendall square, you can rent a kayak and go kayaking.

IMG_6571.JPG!

And apparently, I was super serious about it.
IMG_6579.JPG

I think the perfect end to a day in Boston is just laying on the dock on the river, and just absorbing the sun. I didn't get much time to do this as a student, but when I did... it looked like this.

IMG_6605.JPG

or a glass of wine sitting by the river can't hurt! Especially when your feet hurt so much from walking
IMG_6688.JPG

My next post is going to feature another completely different day in Boston!! Let me know what you think so far :)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @funtimes! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

beautiful photography..

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good day and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :)

Hola! Your account was recently created so I am offering you my welcome. This deserves an upvote and rock on!
As you are new to steemit, getting those first upvotes are gonna be hard so my advice would be to give Steemfollower a go as you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I have also made this post where I explain the site in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

Welcome to STEEMIT . I'm sure you will enjoy finding your way around .

Thank you!! Still trying to figure it out :)

You're a MIT grad? Love the pictures!

Read below:

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Thank you and yes, I am an MIT grad !! @ocd this is great, I'm sorry I'm seeing this so late, but of course you can go ahead and share my post :)

Hi @funtimes welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @Fshllc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59220.04
ETH 2316.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51