Corruption on the roads of Mexico (eng)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Greetings to you, friends!

In this post I want to warn you against fraud while traveling. And draw attention to corruption in some countries. You should always be vigilant on independent trips. No one wants to get into trouble during the vacations, but there is always the possibility of becoming a victim of thieves-pickpockets. But now about the other.

maxresdefault.jpg

I and with my friend are in Cancun, Mexico at the moment. We decided to rent a car in order to be more free in traveling around the area. This is my first experience of renting, in one of the posts I will describe how everything went.

The other day we gathered on a trip from Cancun to Chichén Itzá (2.5-3 hours on the road). And the first trouble was waiting for us at the exit from the city. Police!

I drove at a speed of 55-60 km / h along the road, where the permitted speed of 60 km / h. On one of the road sections a policeman followed us, and I, as a respectable citizen of my country, stopped at the curb. The policeman didn't introduce himself, reluctantly switched to English and reported his claims. Allegedly, my speed was more than 65 km / h where 40 km / h is allowed. He didn't show either the recorded radar data, or the sign announcing the speed mode. He demanded my driver's license and confiscated it together with a car rental contract.

Cars continued to fly along the lanes at a speed of 70-80 km / h, and the policeman filled an incomprehensible form of fine. According to him, I must go to the police station, pay a fine and only then he will return my documents. Then he realized that my passenger doesn't have a driver's license, and there's no one to drive the car. He offered to give him $ 200, and he personally will pay for me a receipt.

Reason, I realized that this is fraud from the very beginning. But I didn't know what he could really do to us. And we traveled only a quarter of the way from the city! To give him all the money? The penalty for speeding can’t cost $ 200 in any country in the world! And what is the "over speed" if he managed to catch up with me? It's funny!

I said that the amount is too high and I don't have that much money. Suddenly, the penalty was less than half, allegedly he pitied me and demanded $ 100. I felt disgusted, I wanted to get rid of him sooner, and I parted with an honestly earned banknote. He returned me all documents, and I, with pain from resentment, left the place of conflict as soon as possible.

Further, we quietly got to Chichén Itzá, and the incident was almost forgotten until we had to go on the return journey. Heavy road, almost 3 hours in the dark, and at the entrance to the city a new police cordon were waiting for us.

I specifically watched the speedometer and drove slowly, with the speed of other cars. And the police car got under me again! I wanted to swear and give gas, but I stopped and listened again to the same claims. Apparently, if you go 10 km / h, you can fine that you're going "too slow."

Again the same scheme: he confiscates the license, says that I have to pay a fine (now $ 100) on Monday. And now it's Friday! I say that I'm leaving on weekends and in general, I don't have any money. On the question, and how much I have money, I give him $ 20. He didn't even touch a banknotes of $ 1 and $ 5 bills, and let me go. Apparently, he realized that there was nothing more to shake.

Disgust. This is the word that I feel for such people. Especially if they are representatives of the authorities and are capable of intimidating or really spoiling the lives of civilians.

The trip is ruined. Only thanks to the wonderful nature, communication with the world of animals and the Caribbean Sea will be a pleasant experience. And I want to forget memories of the police. I leave them to you as a warning.

If you are stopped by the police - say that there is no money, and let them arrest you. It is unlikely that they will want to slip out of their own lies.

Good luck!

      Thank You!

Upvote, Resteem and Follow Me please!

@freshkarma

jennifer-lawrence gif.gif

Sort:  

Scary shit!

F*ck the police!!!! 🤬

As a Mexican I want to say that wants happen to you was an 1 of a 10,000 situation. But I know is not. That is the "normal" is very commun and if you don´t know how the curruption works in Mexico is very dangerous, because they do anitinhg to f*** up! thanks for sharing.

thank you for your opinion. I write about the problem as a tourist and for other tourists, to warn against unpleasant situations

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47