Life as it was ment to be - Travel the world

in #travel8 years ago

Imagination is a powerful asset.

As I floated down the Mekong Delta I thought, "Life is pretty crazy"

In 2007, I read The Four Hour Workweek, threw away my law school application, and got a job teaching English in Taiwan.

Since then I've been bitten by the travel bug. It's an infectious disease that never quite goes away. An itch that you'll never scratch.

Thus far I've explored Taiwan, Thailand, Australia, South Korea, Colombia, Vietnam, Mexico, and Canada. But I'm not even close to being done.

The thing about travel is that you can't be the same once you've really done it. I don't mean a typical weekend vacation somewhere where you're just as tired when you get back. I mean real life changing adventures that force you out of your comfort zone.

My adrenaline junkie friends make fun of me for not liking rollercoasters or snowboarding. But they don't get it. I get my thrills from jumping on a plane and going somewhere new. My heart beats fast when I hear a new language. My blood races when I connect with new friends in exotic places. Trying to order food in the local tongue is my thrill ride.

So as I went down the Mekong with my Vietnamese guide, I was thinking of all the events that led me there. In my mind I was picturing everyone back at home too scared to jump on a plane and have an adventure.

Then my Vietnamese guide turned to me and asked for a large sum of tip money and I thought, "The world ain't so crazy after all"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46