You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Canadian Rockies: Spirit Island, Maligne Canyon and the Grizzly bear encounter, Jasper National Park Day 4-25+ pictures

in #travel6 years ago

Great photos! I don't think I'd want to be anywhere near a grizzly bear... He might decide human is easier than berries!

Rainy and misty weather isn't as much fun to be in, but the atmospheric effect adds an ethereal feel to photos.

Sort:  

Well I was across the street and still in the vehicle ,a bunch of tourist with their children where out of their cars with their kids crowding the bear (bad idea) He had a year's worth of food with them waiting haha, I think i was safe at that point. They are lucky the bear was habituated. The rain does add texture to the photos but it was kind of depressing to be in for 5 days!

Oooh, that's scary. If I had kids, I would want them to stay a long ways back. Wild animals are unpredictable at the best of times! Ha, yeah... You were definitely safe, with those tasty morsels between you and the bear.

That's unfortunate that the rain lasted so long, but it looks like you made the best of it, photography-wise. I know what you mean, though. One year, when I lived in Jerez de la Frontera, we literally had three and a half months of rainy days. It rained at least a little every day.

I don't know why anyone gets out of the vehicle but yeah, especially the kids. There has been a few incidents of black bear attacks this year because of people crowding you would think people would learn from others misfortune!

I dislike the rain but I have been very fortunate with many rain free trips so far...Can't win em all! We needed it, it's very dry here and dangerous for wildfires. 3 and a half months of rain!! Whoa, way too much 😱 😱 Now that is depressing! I'm from the east coast and we used to get a lot of tropical depressions and they would just hover around. I remember last time I went home it rain for a month non stop(average of 110 mm/day). I was so happy to get back into the sunshine here!

Haha, yeah. Sunlight is really a blessing after that much rain. In Jerez, I became a regular at the fancy Arab-styled tea shop. I used to hole up there and use my computer most evenings, since it was drizzling outside anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44