Travel Japan Day 8 Part 2 Authentic Kobe Beef

in #travel7 years ago

So I thought I have been eating the real Kobe Beef at a diner in Chatswood. It costed $50 so it must be legit. Then I had a $50 Kobe Beef in Japan. After the first bite I realized thatthe Chatswood restaurant serving "wagyu beef" was a cheap imitation of this beautiful piece of meat in my mouth.

This is the real deal I had in a restaurant at Dotonbori, Japan, exclusively serving Kobe beef. Maybe @knozaki2015 would know this place. Apparently they have their own farm and only serve their own Kobe beef. Just wondering if their brand is of good quality.
19.jpg
Look at those marvelous marbling. This cow has been bred like a King and it shows. @kuenok, sensei, is the plaque an award or it just says their brand?

17.jpg

Kobe Beef Rip Offs

Due to popular demands in other countries, there have been number of farmers outside of Japan that try to replicate the Kobe. Angus cattles have been cross bred by using Kobe semen. The result is nothing like a 100% Kobe.

They are totally different to Japan's Kobe beef. The marbling, texture, color and more importantly the taste is so different.
20.jpg

Chef

The head honcho running the squad. He was very vocal and very lively as he cooked our meal. Observing him as he leads, he came across as someone who is assertive, communicative, strong and demanding. Traits needed to lead a busy kitchen.

Three of my companions ordered the burger and the steak came out medium rare.
22.jpg

One of them wanted to re-cook the beef well done. The chef's reaction was priceless.
21.jpg
He said something in Japanese then the waiter explained that the chef recommends and always cooks it this way. The waiter also mentions that their food handling is of high standards. My friend was adamant on getting a well done steak.

Steak is best served medium rare to me, making the beef extra tender and juicy, some like it even rarer. My friend doesn't like eating live meat I guess.

Pricing

This is the menu and I circled the one I ordered. There is an extra 200 Yen if you wanted some rice with it and all up would have totaled to the sum of AU$50. The beef was seared and cooked on the huge hot plate right in front of us then cut into pieces once it was done.
18.jpg

He puts it on top of a bowl of rice, added some kind of sauce then topped it with scallions, seaweed, onions and green pepper. That Kobe was soooo goooood! It literally was almost melting in my mouth, so tenderlicious. Makes me wonder how their most expensive premium steak would be like. The sauce added was to die for, it certainly gave the whole dish an extra lift. A lift to heaven.
23.jpg

In addition to the flavorsome Kobe Don, there is a beef soup on the side to drink last, to push that rice into the depths of your stomach. Making you feeling fuller, happier and very satisfied.
25.jpg

When will I get the chance to eat this again? Oh the misery.......................


My Blogging Camera

©2017 All Rights Reserved @foovler





You can find where I have been and other travel bloggers at http://steemitworldmap.com

!steemitworldmap 34.6687235 lat 135.499106 long Dotonbori d3scr

Sort:  

The chef let your friend off easy. If it were my restaurant, his head would be mounted on a stick outside the entrance. He had a chance at legit kobe beef and wanted it well done? You need better friends, before they get you killed being mixed up in their stupidity.

Thanks for the post, though. I now have a new thing for my bucket list...."kobe beef" dinner in the USA, hop on a plane to Japan and eat more KOBE BEEF back to back.

eheheh yeah, what a waste...

anyone should try at least once...

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=foovler
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-japan-day-8-part-2-authentic-kobe-beef


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

what a dish work of art! I wanna try hehe

if you are a foodie, i recommend that you should definitely...

I grew up where beef is big. But I only heard of kobe in the last ten years. I thought it was a cut style, but you're implying its a whole breed. Now I need to find out if that is local anywhere here and what they're doing differently.

You're my first stop in the mornings. And I know nothing of modern Japan. Fasckinating stuffs!

Hey thanks for reading. Japan is a must visit to explore and experience whole totally different culture.

omg it looks amazing.. yeah that's an award given by some kind of kobe beef exhibition association kinda thing, had no idea such thing existed lol

Wow! Thank you. Yeah they were quite proud about it. I am salivating just thinking about it.. Mmmm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60826.76
ETH 2393.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62