Things to do in Rotorua - Skyline Rotoroa - Gondolas and luges

in #travel6 years ago

Last time we were at Te Puia Geothermal park and rushed breezed through it within an hour. We were actually thinking to visit another geothermal park. Lucky we didn't! Riding a luge was so much fun. So we headed straight from Te Puia theme park to Skyline Rotorua. It's just a quick drive from Rotorua's city center.

There are many things to do here too! Again so little time. Going up on a gondola we could see bike tracks for mountain bikes just below us. I was looking at the trails and it looked dangerous. I don' t ride mountain bike, so maybe piece of cake for the ones that do.

Also saw some people doing ziplines, Zoom Ziplines, looked so much fun. We didn't actually do it, so little time! Apparently the zip line can go as fast as 80km/h, that is fast. If you hit something, you are pancake. I really think that we should have done this one.

There are also others like Volcanic Hills for the wine lovers. Stargazing to see the universe. It operates at night and depending on the weather. Nature Trails for the hikers. Sky Swing, it can reach speeds of up to 150kph.

[embedyt]

[/embedyt]

WHAT WE DID DO

It's not called things to do in Rotorua without mentioning what we actually did. You guys have to do the Luge run. Anyone can do it, little girls were passing me like maniacs. There are three courses. Beginner, intermediate and advance. I recommend starting in the Beginner/Scenic route first until you get the hang of it. Move on to Advance if you are confident enough or to intermediate. Advance has more steep slopes and faster.

We bought a day pass which included unlimited ride on the gondola and buffet dinner at Stratosfare for $65. It was on special, normally $81. The luge, was purchased separately and paid $26 for 3 rides. So all up we paid $91 each.

The day pass enables us to come and go as we please. The luge ride went pretty quick and we had two hours to kill before the buffet. So we headed back to Rotorua's city center. She did some shopping and I just ran around some random park.

[embedyt]

[/embedyt]

Rode the gondola back up to Stratosfare and had buffet. The dinner was great. The beef and lamb was the best. New Zealand has the best meat. We also ordered a separate cray fish, that was delicious. It was fresh and not saturated in sauce.

SPEND MORE TIME IN ROTORUA

I'd say two days will be enough for you to do most of the fun stuff. Having enough time to stop and smell the roses or in this case smell sulfur. I make it sound like it's bad but really your sense of smell gets use to it. No, it will not linger after you leave Rotorua.


Check out where we have been and other Steemit travel bugs at Steemit World Map !steemitworldmap -38.110432 lat 176.221969 long Skyline Rotorua d3scr

A WARRIOR'S LOVE SONG

Before you go, I just want to share a song with you. It's a love song depicting a story passed on by generations of Maori people. The story goes, a girl named Hinemoa, swam a cold, freezing lake in the dark of night to see the man she loves, Tutanekai. In the dark, only guided by the sound of Tutanekai's flute. I blog about this before but for those who missed it. What can I say, the song touched me.

[embedyt]

[/embedyt]

©2017 All Rights Reserved @foovler

Sort:  

Probably too old and brittle to do luging, but enjoyed seeing it all the same! When we were in NZ 2 years ago we had a wonderful Maori village experience just outside Rotorua - https://steemit.com/travel/@brightongreg/new-zealand-16-ohope-beach-rotorua-and-a-maori-village-north-island
Stay safe.

Great post.. our Maori experience was unforgetable. Thanks for dropping by.

Nice traveling story. I watched the video. You are looking so gorgeous and fresh. Team Australia has done a great job.

Gorgeous and fresh. I love that. I think you're a spark in a world of midtowns. In so may ways you're my favourite find on steemit. I'm kinda over the pan though.

LOL.. gota let people know about cast iron pans! You should really join this guys at @minnowsupport... You write great contents and have been making head turn from big investors. But by joining @minnowsupport, you can earn more consistently.

I think I need a coach here, and I think you're probably it. I'll look into it. I have a couple ideas coming up that might fly. Mostly I think I need to say "yay steem" lots, and I have a couple of ideas on those, so it might work out.

Thanks for the encouragement. Its fun watching the view count and wondering who is actually looking. Soon I'll write things they'll be more interested to upvote. Maybe by then I'll be joined into a community like you suggest. Until then I have a few more words to explore. :)

Loved it! And now makes me want to go again.

Last time I was there I only did the thermal pools, but obviously, there is so much more to do. The sulphur smell wasn't the best though, bareable but I don't think I could live there.

And your videos were great too.

You could re-edit into one video and upload to dtube for extra upvotes :-)

And that $65 deal was a bargain!

yeah Rotorua had so much to offer less smell... not really liking dtube since i used it last year... yeah $65 was a bargain considering the food.. thanks for watching/reading..

very interesting post! It is always great to read traveling stories like this.

thanks always.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Things stabilizing with the little one? Looking for real news. Its so uncommon in cali we seek the pacific megaphone. Terrible!

Sadly and frustratingly, no. This colic thing is terrible. I never wish it on any parents.

Is mom eating dairy? That can be an issue. Also, cool outside air by the crib can be a solution sometimes. Can she sleep outside?

She never/hardly eats dairy. Not sleep outside. Shes getting better though.. had a proper rest last night. Hopefully stays that way.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=foovler
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=things-to-do-in-rotorua-skyline-rotoroa-gondolas-and-luges


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66