Visiting the home of Laura Ingalls Wilder - Author of the Little House on the Prarie

in #travel6 years ago

This past week I have been traveling with my husband @jonny-clearwater to a small, teeny tiny town outside of Springfield Missouri. The reason for our travel here was to film some episodes for his steemit exclusive show Hots or Shots . When I was doing some research on the area I discovered that one of my favorite authors as a child had a home in Missouri close to where we would be staying. The home is now a museum (I am no stalker), so I insisted this be one stop on our trip.

Laura Ingalls book.jpg

Laura Ingalls Wilder was my favorite author when I was a young girl. I loved her books on pioneer life and simpler days out on the prairie. Her writings were the basis for the popular TV show Little House on the Prairie . I never really watched the TV show, but I read every one of her books. Some maybe twice.

Laura Ingalls2 book.jpg
(photo taken from lauraingallswilderhome.com)

Laura Ingalls Wilder was born on Feb. 7, 1867 near Pepin, Wisconsin. She died at the age of 90 in Mansfield Missouri. Her books are all based on her life and adventures as a child growing up a pioneer of the mid west and homesteading. Laura Ingalls Wilder was encouraged by her only daughter Rose to write about her life. She felt there was great stories to be told. Laura listened to her daughter, and began writing when she was 65 years old.

The home in Mansfield Missouri that we toured previously sat on 200 acres that the Wilders names The Rocky Ridge Farm

20180403_113211.jpg

It was dreary in MO. when we visited, but I am sure this same view in the Spring and Summer looks lovely when the trees and flowers are full of color and life.

20180331_141851.jpg
~Home built by the Wilders

The home was small and cozy. Laura Ingalls Wilder and her husband Almanzo Wilder built this home with their own hands. There was a small kitchen with a woodburning stove. Their daughter Rose eventually bought her parents a new electric stove and refrigerator, but only after she paid $3000 to have an electric line run to their home from the nearest major city. I was impressed with this fact, as that sum was a very large amount back then. I was told that people would come by the Rock House on the farm just to see it because most people in the area did not even get electricity until the 1940's!

Laura Ingallsd.jpg
~Sign outside the Rock House

20180331_153530.jpg
~Back side of sign outside of the Rock House

The Rock House was actually a home design produced from the Sears catalogue. You used to be able to purchase home floor plans and kits right out of a Sears catalogue. Rose Wilder had the Rock House built as a retirement home for her parents. She made sure it had electricity and running water. Her parents lived there for a few years but ended up moving back into their other home on the property that they built with their own hands. It felt more like home. The Rock House is actually where Laura Ingalls Wilder began writing her books. This is the home where it all the fantastic stories about her life were finally written down for future generations to enjoy.

Laura Ingalls Wilder Stone House March 2018.jpg

The Rock House was a beautiful little cottage. I would have loved to live there.

Laura Ingalls WIlder stone house.jpg

I was glad we got to stop by this museum and tour the homes. I enjoy touring historic places when I travel and learning about a time period in life that came before me. The fact that this was my favorite child hood author was extra special.

29595247_10213651694145108_3758840333777284540_n.jpg

Thanks for reading about my visit to the Laura Ingalls Wilder Museum.

Please be on the look out every Thursday for a new episode of Hots or Shots
with @jonny-clearwater
HotsOrShots Logo_10k.png

logo.png

~@Flowerpowerart
https://www.etsy.com/shop/FlowerPowerShowers?

Sort:  

I love everything "Little House on the Praire". :) Nice pictures. Thanks for sharing.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Flowerpowerart from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Very nice post. I can remember that TV Show from back in the day. Don't think I watched it though. I'm more of a Knight Rider kinda guy.
Upvoted 100%

You got a 2.69% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jonny-clearwater!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Beautiful reminder of a more communial time.

Everyone remained together and on the same land.

I like the information about sears cataloge. I have read about other pre built historic homes. We can do some amazing things.

Yes. We can. It is amazing to see how far we have come in technology and innovation in the past 100-200 years. I do prefer a simpler time though. To have less things and more focus on family and self sufficiency.

We have grown faster in technology in the last ten years than we estimate previously. More things are becoming obsolete than are being created.

I look forward to when real life and technology balance out culturally so we can continue to live healthy lives.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Thanks for re-steeming my post, it means a lot to me ♡ wishing you all the best xx

You are very welcome. You seem like a fun gal, akin to the same things I like.....and also a red head.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77