You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel Report: Medellin, Colombia

in #travel7 years ago

This is very interesting to me. Colombia and Medellin specifically are high on my lists of possibilities for a place to live longer term. I'm in expat groups there and sub various people who tout their fair city. The posts I see are overwhelmingly positive. I'm actually in these groups for many places around the world and Medellin is one that the expats seem to love. I will take your points and focus on them over there for a while. Maybe these expats are glossing things over. I really appreciate this post and perspective. Thank you :)

Sort:  

That's exactly what brought me to Medellin. I heard endless positive stuff about the place. Only to learn first hand how it really is. One good friend that convinced me to go....well, he's a multi millionaire. He's planning on moving to Medellin. But he'll be living in el Poblado and spending probably 10,000 dollars a month to live. He'll be in his luxury bubble in tourist town forever more. Great life if that is what you want and you have the money. But stepping outside of this bubble, it's a whole other world. Seriously this el Poblado, it's more expensive than most places throughout the western world regarding food and accommodation. Go a few blocks away, and your back to 50 cent empanadas.

Not to go on and on, but I really appreciate you comments. One main point I promise to my audience is to bring them the truth. So many travel blogs and websites are just trying to sell you a place. .... like www.gotomedellin.com, as if they don't have an agenda. I'll never do that. To find a perfect place on this earth does not exist, nor will I pretend that it does. You may want to check out Playa del Carmen, Mexico. I'm here now and will write a report on it in a few weeks. It's like 1st world quality everything at third world prices. It's my favorite place so far south of the border, food, people, it's very safe, weather, affordability, activities, ....it will rate high for sure! Thanks again for following me! World Travel Pro!

Playa del Carmen was actually on my list before I moved to Bangkok. It has a school I was thinking about attending and my brother vacations there yearly. He loves the place but he is spending the big bucks for luxury. I will be really interested to know what you think. I did not see downsides other than being too close to the US lol.

I prefer to stay in a local neighborhood away from tourists and love it where I am now. But I have two unrelated Thai friends who both tell me I am in a bad part of town and they do not want to come here. This is kind of good news to me. I'm on the 7th floor with a great balcony view and all the street food is delicious, healthy and inexpensive. What more can I ask?

As for Medellin, I am very happy to have this other side to the story. The key points I liked about what I saw were weather, people and food, but I did look back and see you are correct - the people I follow are living in this el Poblado area. I definitely appreciate the heads up and I will be reading their posts more carefully in future.

EXACTLY. El Poblado is not Colombia. It's the most insulated isolated touristy thing I've ever encountered in a major city. It's like Hooters and TGI Friday one after another. It's like going to Disneyworld, once your beyond the gates it's fantasy world. Outside you can find scenes from walking dead!

Yeah, people don't know what they are doing when it comes to living expenses. Who would come to a third world country to spend like their in Europe? I got a super nice place for 20 dollars a night just out of the tourist district and 15 minute walk to the beach here in playa del carmen. Casaejido. They look expensive if you look them up online but they negotiate. AC, room service, pool, great quality everything. But I'm only here for a week.

Then there are apartments all around. I got invited to a friends apartment here that is actually 3 blocks from the beach on 3 south. Big and luxurious In California he said would be at least 2,000 a month. He's paying 600. You could easily find something nice here in the 300-500 range all inclusive. I like it here so much, I'll probably make this my base camp for this part of the world in years to come. So good meeting a like minded person on here. Will certainly be following you as well.

Disney - a nightmare place. Only second to Legoland with their plastic grass lol. just your mention of Hooters gives me all I need to know. Thank you so much for the follow. I am really excited to have people see my work. it's a quiet world for the most part, so I am happy to be here.

I like the way you think. I'll be in touch! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60842.02
ETH 2699.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44