You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Salt City Comic Con Recap

in #travel7 years ago

I've been in San Diego where Comicon is a major annual event. The California crowd is way more naked than you are showing here. I think they have a NSFW section that is more extreme.

My son hates me (Reason 47) for never letting him go as a kid and teen. Now at 25, he can't afford it but goes outside the convention center and has fun with that I think. I went one year and it was a huge carnival out there.

Your daughter looks fantastic. Love the hair and she looks so cute in those glasses.

Sort:  

Thanks for the reply!

So, yes, there were definitely some costumes that showed more skin than the ones I shared here. As I mentioned in the post, there were a TON of Harley Quinn cosplayers, and as you might imagine some of those were a bit more risqué than others. There were others that showed ample cleavage, a butt cheek or two, plenty of midriffs, etc. The two main reasons why I don't have pics of those costumes are:

  1. I was with my 12-year-old daughter, and honestly it just felt weird to me even thinking about asking to take pictures of scantily clad women (most of whom appeared to be closer to her age than mine...). Perhaps that's due to my relatively conservative upbringing and my own hangups as a middle-aged divorced man, but hey, so it goes.

  2. Most of the more revealing costumes were displayed on the first day of the con. As it was my first time there, I was more focused on just taking in the whole experience, and I actually got very few pictures overall from that day. Also, I took fewer pictures on the first day because my phone battery was low (I had forgotten to charge it up before leaving home), and since I was with my daughter, I wanted to make sure it had enough juice in case we got separated.

Anyway, I do hope to make it out to SDCC sometime. I have a friend who works at the Mysterious Galaxy bookstore in San Diego, and she runs the bookstore booth at the Comic Con there every year. Perhaps I can earn enough Steem to go one of these years!

Definitely make it a goal and talk to your friend about details so you know what you need to do. You have to make plans way far in advance - flights, hotels etc - much less the tickets. This has been for years now as it is extremely well attended. I ride the trolley in SD and it will be filled with Comicon-ians for the whole time. It's fun just to people watch from about anywhere in town. Your daughter is lucky to have you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39