Spiti: The Snow Desert

in #travel8 years ago


Travel Pics to The Middle Land

Hello Steemit! Spiti, literally meaning 'The Middle Land' is a snow desert in the middle of India and Tibet! It's a spectacularly peaceful and beautiful alien landscape. Mars is going to have a tough run for its money in Spiti. I went there recently with my friends and it was a magical experience!



To get there, we have to start a 24 hour bus ride, and en route stop at a beautiful mountain hamlet which has people come in from all over the world to live here

That's me next to a waterfall in Manali. We had a really easy 2 hour hike to get there through Apple orchards on a rainy bad hair day

I left on a bus from Manali to Spiti which was one of the most spectacular roads and views I've experienced in my life!

The roads are dusty and zig-zag all the way through. You seem to get lost in the scale of things you are looking at!

This is the World's Highest post office at 4420M (almost half the height of Mount Everest) I sent a postcard to my parents from here :)

Spiti is a Buddhist community with a lot of big 1000 year old monastery spread across the mountain. It was a humbling experience surrounded by huge ancient mountains. The world is a playground!

Sort:  

Very good! Wonderful. Should be a very good trip!

It was a wonderful experience :)

Next week i will go to Angola and i will post my trip! Follow me https://steemit.com/@bycz

I like India very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50