FireTravels #8—Traveling Through Singapore, Malaysia and Onwards To Lisbon for SteemFest 2017!

in #travel7 years ago

SteemFest 2017 is closing in and over 200 of us have prepped to travel there. But before I can get there I had this trip planned many months ago to two very popular South East Asian countries: Singapore and Malaysia.


Source

As a child growing up in India I got started on watching motorcycle racing on the television at an early age. Ever since it was a dream to watch the MotoGP race in person. Now 20 years later, that dream is coming true as I'm attending the MotoGP race at the famous Sepang circuit in Malaysia being held from 27-29th of October.


Source

But before I can get to the race I will be visiting Singapore. In comparison to India, Singapore is a small nation but it's considered a first world Asian country owing to its pace of development, infrastructure, quality of life etc. It is supposedly expensive and somewhat Swiss-like in terms of the $$$ required to travel through it or so I was told.


Unfortunately you cant travel with Bitcoin and hence multiple currencies are needed when traveling to specific countries.


Airport at Mangalore city was lit up for Diwali celebrations when I was leaving my home city.


You can see the fireworks and well lit city of Bangalore on the night of our festival of Diwali.

The transit through immigration in India was rather smooth. But I'm a bit concerned about security in the days to come. After all, I've still got 2 steel rod implants and 3 screws in my right leg which gets the scanners blaring at their loudest setting and security guards on high alert.


Arrived at Bangalore International Airport. So far so good!


Shot a pano waiting to board my Malaysian Airlines flight to Kuala Lumpur


It was cold and I was restless but fortunately the flight wasn't very long!

Makes me a bit uncomfortable. But as my flight to Singapore is delayed, I've got this time to type this down and wait it out. However, when I finally got to the security they were quite cool about it in Malaysia. But there are many flights ahead and many many scanners!


First view of the Malaysian terrain at dawn.


One of my favorite aircrafts the A380 in the frame. Finally managed to see one in-person on this trip. Can't wait to travel on it some day.

A year ago when I dreamt of this vacation little did I imagine how crazy this past year would be. Singapore and Malaysia before I take a direct flight to Amsterdam before getting on a connection to Lisbon., where I will meet couple of hundred Steemians. It feels nothing short of incredible this!


Look what I found just as I got out of the aircraft in Kuala Lumpur


Any Iron Man fans here?


This seemed like a very popular joint at KLIA Terminal 2, especially amongst the Chinese tourists.

But, for a change I'm not traveling solo, atleast not all the way. I've got two of my close buddies @leftfield and @thebatmanbiker joining me on the 25th in Malaysia and I look forward to having a great time with them. At Singapore I am meeting one of my closest childhood friend and classmate and I look forward to reconnecting with her as it's been a while!


Chinese guided tour operators. I hadn't seen something like this before, with the colored flags and all! Very professional!


Found a place where I could work and catch some black coffee and chocolate muffin!


They had some great looking pastries as well!


Malaysian Currency!


Immigration queue at Changi Airport, Singapore! They were quicker than the immigration counters at Malaysia!



This is where you should come to get your pre-paid Sim Card + MRT (Metro) Card for Singapore!

As the years pass on, our lives takes us to different places. Many of my friends that I grew up with are now in different parts of India and the world. Steemit has made it possible for me to reunite with many of friends whom I haven't met in ages. It's a great feeling nonetheless. I have made friends all over the world thanks to my previous travels, social media and now Steemit.

Stay tuned as I continue blogging about my travel through Singapore and Malaysia, leading upto to our SteemFest at Lisbon!


@steemfest is just a week away and you can visit the official ticket website for ticket purchases.


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Successful #2 India Steemit Accelerator and Steem Cryptocurrency Meetup 2017 at Robert Bosch India HQ!
  2. My 1st Steemit Anniversary — Looking Back at an Amazing Year Of My Life!
  3. This Is How You Speed Up Your Steemit Account Recovery!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Wow, you have an adventure there for you, my friend. I know you will love the race and you should savor every bit of it so you will always remember it. Remember to make friends as you travel, good ones, that will add to your life forever.

Its my dream also to travel all over world ,its takes time but this dream comes true i thought so

interesting post!

wow thats amazing photos and look like its lot fun ahead, malysia and singapore is small but they are wonderful places for tourisum but my best photo is that lighting photo taken from plane is awesome and happy diwali and happy steem feast...

Thanks a lot.

Ohhh..that's looking nice,you got a great talent that you are using in Steemit that actually its pays you ... I think you will get success . May God bless you !!!!👍

Oooh hit me up if you need help in Singapore or anything.

one day many dreams of leaving the gattoh to place like that will come true.
as a gettoh born this is the only chance i have to use to get to am dream.
i thank vary one who upvote am posts @battebilly. Your helping me to go out of the gettoh. thank for voting me out of the poverty.

Great post and very nice pictures! :)

Wow, Amazing trip sir, Hopefully you are in good healthy always sir.

Thank you. :)

You're welcome sir, My pleasure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75