You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What It Means to Solo-Travel the World for One Year on a Motorcycle

in #travel5 years ago

Thanks for the excellent introduction! How do you manage your finances while going through so many different countries? These days in the West you need Visas and passports, etc. to cross borders.

You only needed a passport, and all the different countries simply let you enter? I'm just curious how it works. To me we should be free to travel as long as we are peaceful. All the walls and borders of the world are counter to individual liberty.

Sort:  

Hey buddy! Thanks for the heads up!
I'm totally on your side in that point. Having gone across many borders, I can say they are a strange thing -- mostly, not so much is changing, ethnicity- and landscape-wise. It is, however, a new set of rules and a new sovereignty you might be facing.
In my case, I am doing some research upfront for which visas I'd need, and since I had intended to travel east, I had applied for Iran, Pakistan, and India upfront (the latter needs a paper visa when entering overland). For the bike, there is a customs document which is called "Carnet", issued by your home country, and most countries accept it for temporary import, so that's pretty straightforward. If I do need visas that cannot be obtained on arrival during my travels, I'd just visit the equivalent embassies or consulates.
You've asked about finance -- I have saved for a few years and now, trying to spend little. I'm doing a lot of Counchsurfing and try to avoid expensive activities or places, for that they are quite touristy anyway. Now, I might also generate some pocket money through blogging, but we'll see how that goes. :D :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56554.08
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41