Travel Time #1 - Valencia, Spain

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I decided to start a series of travel posts from places I have been. Last year I had the fortune of going to Madrid, Barcelona and Valencia and I'll intend to post them all but I'm starting with Valencia because it's the one where I took most of the pictures and because I liked it a bit more. Time to start:

(Picture taken on top of the Serrans tower)
DSC05183.JPG

Valencia is the capital city of the Comunitat Valenciana, it was founded by the Romans and then later taken by the Arabs before finally being taken by Jaume I for the Spanish (Sounds like a football match talking about the ball).

Lucky me, I managed to go in the middle of summer (August) and got to enjoy a thriving city, lots of people and lots of stuff to do. The weather was quite nice even when it was hot as you can't imagine, you can survive with sunscreen and a pair of sunglasses to be fair.

(Picture taken on top of the Quart tower)
DSC05000.JPG

I loved the architecture, you can see the contrast between the historical roman buildings, then the arab influence and finally the modern architecture that you see in the city of arts and sciences which is stunning in so many levels. You can't spend two minutes without stopping to look at a building or something that caught your eye due to the intricacy of the facade.

(La Lonja main entrance)
DSC04984.JPG

(Serrans tower)
DSC05188.JPG

(Museum of Science)
DSC04595.JPG

As for the food, well.. I was too busy enjoying it that forgot to take any pictures, but you can look for Paella in google and see what it looks like, I can vouch for the taste, it's amazing. I also had the idea of taste every single fast food joint from Madrid, Barcelona and Valencia. I think I only forgot to eat Mc D's but that one is usually the same everywhere.

Of course, the amount of museums and things to see in the city can take you quite a bit. I stayed in Valencia a month and got to see most of it thanks to a friend who lent me his bicycle so I could go around quicker. The public transportation isn't bad but it is a bit expensive (at least it seemed like it for me).

You have the Jardín del Turia which is a huge garden that goes from point to point in the city, it used to be a river but after the flood that happened in 1957 they created a channel outside the city so the water could go through there instead of the original path. At the west end of the garden you have the Bioparc (the zoo) and at the east end you have the city of arts and sciences.
From end to end it takes an hour and eighteen minutes (1h 18m) on foot and 21 minutes if you have a bicycle.

(Picture taken from the west end near the Bioparc)
DSC05040.JPG

To end this just so I don't overextend the post, if you have the chance to go to Valencia, I suggest you do it. You won't regret it, it's a great city, great weather, many things to do and enjoy even more if you like to photograph things as you have many museums and places to do so.
I got many more pictures but I'm pretty sure it would take me way more to post every single one and explain everything about it. If you've read this far, thanks a lot for taking the time to learn about this beautiful city, have a great day!

P.S: To any football fans out there, yes, I did visit the Mestalla stadium took pictures from the outside but I couldn't reach the inside tour in time, I'll make a post about the stadium later on probably so stay tuned!

Sort:  

Great places I hope to visit one day too))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59426.36
ETH 2654.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43