14 Days In Sweden. What Impressed Me Most

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

  I speak Swedish so two years ago I went to Sweden to get experience of the country and its people. I had a very intense schedule. My friend and I visited Stockholm, Gothenburg, Malmö and Gotland.   

I’d like to tell you what impressed me most but you should remember that it is my personal experience, and I don’t want to offend anyone because other places where we stayed were amazing as well.   

So my choice is Fårö.   

You have probably never heard of it before but it is a lovely small island. To reach it you can take a bus in Visby. It takes a few hours to get to the ferry that will take you to Fårö.    

  When we went there, we wanted to hire bicycles and ride around to see the beautiful beaches. But we could not find any because it is an extremely small island and it is difficult even to find some food.     

  Wait!  

Then why do I say that Fårö was the best place I could find in Sweden? 

The first thing you see when you get off is a whitewashed church which seems to be pretty simple at first sight but then you see that it has some fascinating details. 

Besides, they use wooden ships as decoration in the church. Isn't it wonderful?

As we could not find a bike, we went across the island on foot to get to the beach with the weird stone figures called  "rauks" (raukar). 

It's a pity that I don't have photos to show what an idyllic road it was. We went through a forest of dwarf conifers, collected berries and admired the lakes along the road. Butterflies flied to me and rested on my shoulders and legs (I had never been so attractive to them, I think the secret is the flowery pattern of my clothes, but it would not have happened if there had not been so many butterflies).

Finally, we got to the beach, there we found the stones. We swam in the sea though the beach was a bit rocky.

We also visited  Ingmar Bergman Museum which can be interesting for those who have seen his films.

But the best part of the trip was waiting for the last bus to Visby to come because we were a little afraid to miss it, this is why we were so thrilled and emotionally overwhelmed.

There is nothing better in a journey than an emergency situation you managed to handle. It is so exciting to recall how you almost missed the bus or got lost or was caught in a creepy district after 12 p.m. This is what I like most. 

Fårö is an island where you can feel nature flow in and out leaving you so calm and peaceful. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44