Felixxx Backpacking #3 - Dalmatia ( Croatia )

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Some days ago, I was in Dalmatia.
I got invited on Steemit.
It was my first trip to the Balkans.

If @dumar022 hadn't invited me, I would have maybe never gone.

I knew Croatia was a popular holiday destination, but to me mainly the landscape was appealing. I was misinformed and somewhat ignorant to the whole area.
I grew up in the nineties, when Croatia was at war.

I arrived to a peaceful country, in the peaceful off-season.
Now that I'm back, I already miss it.

I did not take enough good pictures, too - so this post might come a bit short.

Croatia joined the EU fairly recently and the heavy regulations, that come with it, haven't really arrived yet - or at least they didn't have a strong impact, yet.
People still sell their goods on the markets and local products dominate food, still.

The infrastructure is picking up, but I got to see some pretty rundown stuff.
Also, some new constructions don't seem to be planned very well, or were just left unfinished.

you had one job

Foot or cycling paths might end up nowhere and you might just have to walk on the main road to get to the next town.

I can easily overlook that for the clear, blue water and the local hospitality.

Croatia is a hidden gem for backpacking: The prices are low and it's easy to get by in English.
I met quite a few international backpackers in Split and they all liked it.

The Dalmatian language is somewhat strange to me and much too diverse to easily pick up on.
I leave you with some vocabulary, that I found helpful, or funny.

CroatianEnglish
dobar dangood day
dobro večegood evening
krafnafilled doughnut
još jedan, molim!one more, please !
hvala !thanks !
bogbye
plažabeach
pivobeer
živjeliCheers
dobar tekenjoy your meal

I failed to memorize the word for sorry, and said pardon or sorry - both worked.

Altogether it was an easy trip and I enjoyed my time.
I can only recommend Dalmatia as a holiday destination and will go back myself, to take better pictures and to learn more about it.

I'm glad, I didn't go in the summer, but before the cold winds kicked in.
October seems to be a good time - or maybe i was just lucky - will try again !

See you at the beach !

Sort:  

Jep dalmatia is a pretty place.

I misspelled @felixxx in the title, because of that bug -.-

You can say ''pardon'' or ''oprosti'' (sorry).
'Bye'' is ''bok'', not ''bog'' ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56516.28
ETH 2315.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34