Hong Kong shrimp surprise on the hill

in #travel6 years ago

So you might have read that we had missed all the new year festivities in Hong Kong on our stop over. So on the the 1st of january we were both fit as a daisy and a little bit less overwhelmed with the big city.

we went out to discover a bit of hong kong island and wandered around the shopping area (probably looking like really smalltown tourists) and the alleyways with all the little shops that sold real fake phones and such.

But after a bit it started looking all the same and we had the amazing idea to take the tram up to Victoria Peak. Having no idea how the bus system worked we started walking to and through the business district to arrive at the Peak Tram stop only to be greated by a big crowd at the entrance. When I went to get into the queue the attendant (really not friendly) gruffly took my sleeve and started to herd me in the other direction. When questioned he stopped, looked at me and then pointed off to the other direction. There I saw not the 100 people at the entrance but at least another 600 in the queue on the other side of the street.

The wait, it turned out, would be roughly 2.5-3 hours.

Then I made a bold statement: "Ahh, fuck this, lets just walk it, how hard can it be"

What I had not really realised is that this would also take 2 hours and we mastered a elevation of 400 meters winding up that steep steep hill. I was sweating like a pig (or some other really sweaty animal of your choice) by the time we got up there. But the sight was out of this world. All those giant skyscrapers, that layer of smog, that big pile of humans was all beneath us...

IMG_0158.JPG

IMG_0108.JPG

IMG_0113.JPG

IMG_0156.JPG

Now that building in this last picture was a miniature shopping mall on the top of this peak and there were some fast food restaurants in there and something else. I now realise this is apparently a chain of restaurants but at the time I thought it funny and a better alternative to BurgerKing.

Bubba Gump Shrimp

So off we went to see the Forrest Gump memorial restaurant. I ran around the whole place taking pictures of everything that popped out. I really do have to say that they did make an effort and that the whole concept is really well thought out. Even the food wasn't bad at all and brought in theme. Really nice experience all in all and here are some pictures to share it with you.

IMG_0116.JPG
IMG_0136.JPG
IMG_0137.JPG
IMG_0139.JPG
IMG_0140.JPG
IMG_0146.JPG
IMG_0145.JPG

so have any of you actually ridden that tram or has someone done the same as me and walked up that hill?
And if you like bubba gump shrimp... let me know as well

when we got home, we watched Forrest Gump that weekend (its still an amazing movie)

Sort:  

Hey there, Hong Kong native here! Can't believe you walked up to the peak.. D: my parents tricked me into doing that once and I hated my life! Although there are interesting colonial relics along the way. The tram is an amazing experience though, that's insane that the wait was 2-3 hours long, I've never had to wait that long! Was it a Sunday by any chance? Still shouldn't be that long still.... Anyway double decker buses aren't to navigate, especially if you use google maps! Hope you had a great time nonetheless, and if you're still there and need recommendations, let me know! :)

hehe, I appreciate you feeling my pain. and it was around noon on the 1st of jan. must have been a lot of tourists around. we just walked everywhere, was cool but just for a visit, lol
back in the mountains in Switzerland now...

Is it true Hong Kong is very expensive? :)

Ah right, that makes sense, big public holiday, everyone has a day off. Yeah, I saw from your other post that you guys were a little overwhelmed by the city!

And i know for sure you had a lot of fun while having an amazing day!

Nice photos! I hope you enjoyed your day .
Is that chicken or crab?

bubba gump shrimp...

Ohh what a long day you have and at your age you can do that.Great job @felander

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54461.78
ETH 2294.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28