You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How it all went wrong in El Salvador

in #travel8 years ago

Holy shit, excellent post! What an incredible story. I'm glad you made it out safe.

The saddest part is that the citizens who live there have nowhere to escape to. It's astounding to see the differences in healthcare.

Sort:  

Yes it for sure was an eye-opening experience. During my travels I did meet people from this country that had to flee it as well, same goes for Venezuela. But indeed, sadly not everyone has that opportunity. And even if they have, they are likely to be received in their 'guest countries' as unwanted foreigners. I followed the refugee 'crisis' that was going on in my fatherland and I was embarrassed to see how my countrymen reacted on people who needed help.

May I ask where you are from? Also, I cannot imagine how hard it was for Hernan to drop everything and leave, even though his hand was forced.

I feel the same in regards to some people's political views regarding immigration here in the United States. Without getting into political debates, I find it hard for me or anyone to justify turning away refugees from other countries who need an escape from the atrocities of their homeland.

I'm from the Netherlands. I can't agree more with what you just said. If there's anything left to wish for it would be for people to open their eyes and look outside their own little cocoon of reality to show some empathy to others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60596.21
ETH 2611.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64