Mysterious and Exciting Underground Town

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I live in Belgrade, the capital of Serbia for 5 years. I came here so I could go to college and the whole experience of moving was completely new and exciting.
I have loved Belgrade since I was a small girl and now I can say that I like Belgrade even more than my hometown.
I enjoy taking long walks. I even sometimes just enter a random bus or tram just to see where it goes. I thinks that is the best way to explore the town.

I don't know if you know this, but history of Belgrade dates back to 7000 BC! There are so many interesting stories, mysteries, legends about Belgrade!
I have a feeling that almost every house hides some phenomenal story about the past. Those buildings, houses, parks, everything is a silent witness of history.

I learned a lot about its history, I read a lot of books and a few weekends ago I decided to go to a Belgrade Underground Tour! Sounds creepy and mysterious? Well, it definitely is!

Let's start! The tour costs 10 euros and the tour guide is a writer who wrote a book about secrets of Belgrade. He really knows amazing and rare stories about the town so I cannot think of a better guide.

The tour starts from Kalemegdan - Belgrade Fortress.

Belgrade fortress dates back to 6th century. There is Upper and Lower town and Kalemegdan park. You can see tower called Nebojsa on this picture. It was built in 15th century, it used to be a defensive tower for a long time. What is interesting about it is the fact that it became the dungeon during 18th centuries and it was on of the darkest symbols of Belgrade.

Pobednik - The Winner

This monument is a real symbol of Belgrade. It was built in 1928, and it celebrates Serbian victory over Ottoman and Austro-Hungarian empire during the Balkan Wars and First World War. Everytime I walk by it I feel like I am at home. There is a wonderful panoramic view from the top of the hill, standing next to the Pobednik and looking at the town, at the colfluence of the river Sava and Danube, it is a magical experience.

Our first stop was a bunker!

It was made in 1948 during Informbiro resolution. Our president Tito constructed this defensive bunker just in case Stallin attacks. It is consisted of a few rooms, small dormitory, and a little upper part which was used for artillery.

I have to admit, it is not a pleasant experience, it is smelly, clausthrophobic, but really exciting at the same time!

Roman Well - Second Stop

Although it is called Roman Well, it is neither a well, nor Roman. :-) It used to be a dungeon during 15th century.
There are lot of legends about this well. Apparently, during the World War II the gold from the National bank was hidden there.
Many movies were inspired by this well, let me mention some of them: Love Affair, or the Case of the Missing Switchboard Operator. The Roman Well served as an inspiration for another movie Labyrinth, which was nominated by Serbia for an Oscar in 2002.
In 1964. even great Alfred Hitchcock visited the well, he was astonished and inspired by the whole atmosphere.

Our third stop - Gunpowder magazine

It was built during the Austrian occupation of Belgrade 1718-39.
Today you can see there many artifacts from Roman period: monuments, altars, sarcophags, tombstones...
During 90s this area was actually a night club! So, even today, you can see black spots on the floor - those are marks from the chewing gums scratched from the floor when this space was cleaned. Sarcophags used to be big ashtrays in the night club. There is also a famous story of one guy who used one of the altars to propose to his girlfriend.
It is a real miracle we actually have anything preserved in not that bad condition.

Our last stop - wine cellar

After a long walk, scarry stories and with mud on our shoes, we came to wine cellar that was made in 19th century.
Now, this is a real underground cafe.

I hope you liked this post about my small adventure, it was a wonderful experience. Although I live in Belgrade there is always something new to discover, that's why I love Belgrade so much - it feels like home but it is still exciting.
I recommend this tour to everyone!

What about you? Do you know some interesting tours in the town where you live?

Source of photos

All images and text published in this post are my original work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87