Evolved08gsr's Travel Life - Return Home

in #travel7 years ago

After a few days on the road from work, there's nothing like the feeling of knowing you're on your way home!

American Airlines Airplane

While air travel is one of the safest ways to travel, WHEN you arrive at your destination has increasingly become a more unknown variable. Over the last 6 months, I have experienced more delays and cancellations of flights than I experienced in my previous 6 years of flying.

Thankfully, I was able to arrive at the airport a couple of hours early for my flight and I noticed a few flights departing earlier than my scheduled flight. I waited in line to speak with the gate agent at the earlier flights, also described in my Travel Issue #2 in regard to flight cancellations and delays, to see if they would be able to place me on standby for the earlier flight. NOTE: If you do not have airline status, the airline may charge you a fee to be placed on standby for an earlier flight.

It turned out that I was lucky enough to get a seat on the earlier flight, expected to bring me home about 1.5 hours faster than my scheduled flight! This is such a treat, because now it means that I get home in time for dinner, and I will be home before my son goes to bed!

The rest of the story is uneventful (and I am thrilled for that)! The plane took off and landed safely and I made it home with time to pick up some Thai Food Take-Out and spend a couple of hours with my son :) I love every minute of my time with him and wish that I could spend more time at home with him and my wife. In life though, we don't always get what we want, and in time I know that my work schedule will change where I'll be able to balance my personal life more to my preference.

Thanks for reading!

Does anyone else have a story that they'd like to share about unexpectedly gaining time to spend with your family? Please add to the comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64503.74
ETH 3188.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56