Visiting Kew Gardens - part 1

in #travel6 years ago

kew1.jpg

I finally visited The Royal Kew Gardens in London, and I'm so happy I did! I Spend there nearly four hours, but could have easily spend days roaming around the huge garden grounds. It took a half an hour ride on the underground to get from Central London to the gardens, and it's a different world out there. If you are in London, and love nature, you need to go to the gardens.

I ended up spending most of time in the furthers corners of the garden, in the parts that, if I'm not completely mistaken, are mostly left to grow all naturally and be wild. I was taking a few selfies there, you know, for proof that I was there and exist. After that I stumbled on Charlottes cottage, which I didn't know was there, because I don't look t maps or read too much about the places I will visit. It was a delightful surprise to find a cute cottage in the middle of woods.

Shot with the Nikon D7200 and Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8.

kew10.jpg

kew2.jpg

kew3.jpg

kew4.jpg

kew5.jpg
All the planks in the cottage were market with Roman numerals to mark where they should join.

kew7.jpg

kew9.jpg

kew8.jpg

Sort:  

Is that a can of Skoal in your pocket?

Ewwww gross, girls should not do snus, well guys neither, but it's especially gross if a girl does it. The round object in my back pocket is a lens cap :D

I considered guessing that as well.

If you can believe me, I almost wrote in the post that "it's not a snus box in my backpocket, it's a lens cap" because that is what came to my mind also as I was looking at the pictures myself.

I liked the first and the second last ones. The trees were interesting. How large is the place?

Google says 121 hectares

That's 1.2 sq km.

Posted using Partiko Android

Undiluted nature at it's best

It appears to be a very pleasant place... how can that be stuffed in the big city of London? Sheesh

Well it's on the outskirts of the city :) a great place to run away from the buzzing city.

Beautiful
Never visited the gardens
Will do

Highly recommend it :)

Bootay

Posted using Partiko Android

My favorite is the gnarled tree in the second to last shot. All of them are great.

A very beautiful place, the gardens are grandiose and of course everything is very green. The penultimate photo is gorgeous!

Lovely place Kew, glad you got there. I did some volunteer work there a few years ago, just helping tidy up etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44