Neon London

in #travel6 years ago

neon1.jpg

Shots from the first night in London. Most are taken around the Southbank when we did a little bit of exploring. Big cities look cool at night time when they turn on various colours of lights, it's like a different city from he daytime. I was drawn to the neon lights like a moth to a flame, I hope you enjoy the pictures of them, and the few other night light ones.

Shot with the Nikon D7200 and Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8.

neon2.jpg

neon3.jpg

neon4.jpg

neon5.jpg

neon6.jpg

neon8.jpg

Sort:  

What beautiful colors! You could try to do some neon light portraits 😉
If you find where to place the Nikon, you could also try to do long exposures... they are just ideas, I know that there is little time... have fun !! 😉

@markkujantunen also suggested doing long expo, but I’m gonna leave that to someone else.

I have tried some neons portraits, with not much success, there is something about heavy neon light that messes with the quality of the image. I’m not sure what it is but the ones I did with using just neon lights, came out suuuuuuper grainy.

I'm no expert and all this could be old news to you but I'll say this anyway, maybe only to gain some knowledge myself:

What kind of settings did you use? I've read somewhere that too high ISO values may lead to a lot of noise when shooting neon. Low ISO and slow shutter speeds are recommended. I don't really know but I could guess that the amount of random burst-like noise in light produced by fluorescent tubes may be high. To even out the noise, low ISO values in combination of slow shutter speeds would be in order - with a tripod of course. Just guessing.

I always aim for the lowest ISO I can, and that usually means using a slow shutter, when doing something a little darker inside. I get something semi useful when I used neon as an accent, and had a normal lightbulb further away to give more even light. Too lazy to find all them pictures now, but I wasn't completely happy with them, it wasn't what I had in mind.

I'm not an expert in portraits with artificial light, but I've noticed that usually neon pictures are fine when the light is close enough to the face and also the final result is better when there are at least two lights in different colors... like a blue and a purple.
Then I know for sure that the photographers who make these portraits, then do heavy photo-editing

Strange that the photos are grainy ... maybe you have to raise the ISO...

Fine photos again. Do you have a camera tripod at home?

Thank you! Of course I do, but I hardly ever carry it on my travels.

There's so much else to carry when traveling that it might not be practical unless one has a travel companion. There are many sceneries worth taking long exposures of. But I'm sure you can get tons of great ones anyway.

I try to keep the kit minimal when ever I’m out shooting, I feel like I get better stuff when I just consentrate on using what I have with me. Sure long exposures are cool but not really my thing, I’ll leavd that to someone else :)

Awesome shots @eveuncovered! I love the southbank, its such a fun place to wander, day or night! I love the frozen yoghurt bus :)

I can’t pick a favourite but I really enjoyed the area. Went there another day on the daytime, and walked all the way to London bridge.

Its a great walk, the nursery for my sister's kids is just off the south bank so when I go to london I often meet her there with the kids and we walk along the river to the train. its great.

That sounds awesome! Do you go on walks on the bottom of Thames when it’s low tide? I think that is so much fun!

Actually I've never had the opportunity, but that would be awesome. I'd quite like to go there and make a sandcastle :D

You have to go next time and take the kiddos too, I'm sure they would love it!

Definitely! It would be amazing and I'd be their favourite uncle! 😁

The last one looks as if it was taken in Amsterdam ;)

I assume you mean something in the red light district ;)

You know I do

is London just one big tourist trap?

No. Definitely not. But yes, there are a lot of tourists, depending on what area you are in.

Not just in your pictures but whenever I see it, it seems like there are random amusement rides strewn about, mostly because of the eye but then I see the other ride in your photo and my impression is reinforced.

Whoah! Nice shot.....@eveuncovered hope you making Album of these beautiful shots. Enjoy the groove in London!!

Wow... awesome night photography

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23