I Hate the Travelling Part in Travelling

in #travel6 years ago

992D357E-16B8-4A08-8F28-BB61BC471B58.jpeg

It’s not the destination, but the journey.

BULLSHIT!

As much as I love to visit new countries and cities, I absolutely hate the journey in between.

I try to sleep well in the night before, wear comfy clothes, eat good meals and drink water, but my body just doesn’t like the traveling. I feel nauseous, tired and cranky most of the way through.

I always make sure I have enough time at every stage of the trip, no stress if I can make it and I have everything organised well. I’m not a drug dealer or illegal immigrant either, and I know how to pack my liquids, so don’t have to stress about passing the security checks.

I actually feel more at ease once in the plane, because we are moving somewhere, the waiting part is the worst.

So here I am, trying to make the best of it by writing an update on my travels half across the world.

Okay, it’s not actually that bad this time, because we got lucky, like almost won the jackpot -lucky yesterday. When we were checking in for our flight, Finnair informed that the flight is seriously overbooked and they are looking for volunteers to change flights, with compensation of course. It took me less than a minute to get on the phone and offer to change up our itinerary.

We are currently in Hong Kong, and we are about to board a ten hour flight to Helsinki, Finland. We had to leave about five hours earlier from Hua Hin to Bangkok airport, but we should be back at home the same time as originally scheduled. Because this drastic change and huge trouble, Finnair gave us both a 600€ girf card to use on their services. 600 fucking euros!! That is pretty much plain tickets to anywhere Finnair flies!!

Ps. I’m sure this happened because of the good karma I gathered because I gave some money to a homeless person in front of the 7/11 couple nights ago. I actually said to my friend ”for good karma”, as I dropped the money. I’m no altruist.

Where should I go?

Maybe come back to Hong Kong because it sucks being in a country you have never been before and only see the airport.

Sort:  

Interesting .. well done
Be prepared before .. Do not enjoy the road problem!
I liked it, thanks for sharing

Hm... maybe the first time I can't fully agree with you 😎

If you had said, "I hate traveling by plane", then yes. Absolutely! Including the trip to and from the airport. Used to have to do it a lot and got so sick of it, that I avoid air travel at all cost!

I'm at a point in my life, where I say, I can reach just about any place I want to visit on my motorcycle and the rest I'll watch on tv. Or your blog 😁

So, for me it is very much the journey, and even if it might take several days to my destination, I usually enjoy every mile of the ride!

Flying is one thing, but traveling by commercial airliner is more of a necessity, the fastest way to cover a long distance, because for most people, time is the issue...

So where should you go? Why not ask: "how should I get there?"

Haa, I totally get your point! But I have to admit to something, I have never been on a motorcycle, horrible, right!?

I guess I hate public transportation, but I usually do enjoy being on a car, preferably if it goes where and when I want it to :P I really should get myself a car and go on a proper road trip in the summer :)

OK.. you come here, I take you for a ride :-)

You definitely should get on a road trip! Here is an alternative if you don't think 2 wheels are enough ;-)

That one weird looking car(?) I think it would look better with four wheels..

Hahahaha... but then it would no longer be the Morgan 3-Wheeler ;-)

Seriously, this all resonates with me @eveuncovered. I travel a lot for work and I hate it. People that say "...I love to travel" typically don't do it for a living. The airports, planes, buses, rental cars and trains are agonizing to me. I can't wait to I'm just where I'm suppose to be.

I could never do what you do, with the intense schedule of having to be on the move a lot and then work on those days too! I hope you don’t have to do that so much now when your book is finished :)

Whuuut €600 for a simple flight change.

Don't see our Dutch KLM doing anything near to that.
Scandinavians..... ;)

You must have the most inviting smile :) or the good karma i suppose.

Anyway i'll be following your travel from now on :) I

Take care!

Haha, I know right, I guess they were desperate because they overbooked 22 people 😅

Use those 600 euros to come to Greece in August to meet the ocd crew ;)

And then to Bali? 😁

And then to Bali. Then Malaysia for the biggest Asian meet up ever.

I feel you so hard on this one!

The joy I feel exploring a new place is immeasurable, but I'm sure my husband is anticipating teleportation in a real way since I'm a cranky betch when it comes to airport travel.

Haha, I also feel sorry for anyone travelling with me, I’m no fun between destinations 😅

Waiting for your next travel!

That'll be Budapest next month :)

Lol... If you ask me.. I'd say explore more places.. trust me I know how it feels.. the feeling is mutual about the traveling.. but explore and see more places.. I could go with you if you want ..lol..

I just followed you.. do well to follow back and let's steem together.. 😊

Yes, I’m always going to see new places, even when I hate the trasport between the places :)

Despite all this, the travel is the most beautiful things in life... Because who knows his country only... has read one page of world's book

I hate the last-day feeling you get on the last day cause it's fucked up. Like you can't even sleep.

I got some sleep but yeah the last day sucks, because all you think is that all the fun is coming to an end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62