Conquer the fear !! (Upvoteforupvote)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20180217-112515.jpg

No one in this world is perfect. Everybody has some shortcomings. Failures are part of life. We learn through our mistakes.
Likewise, we all have some fears. It could be of anything. Most of us are ashamed of telling. But it's natural, we are designed this way. Some have fear of closed spaces, some fear height, some fear depth, some fear dark, some fear water and the list goes on. If none of this, then atleast i think everyone fears death. The point is fear is real. Be it from anything.
So coming to my story, i have great fear of water, depth and closed spaces or spaces where i can't breathe freely. So, that makes me a non-swimmer. I have never stepped into a pool. So, bath tubs don't stand a chance as well.
Few months back, my husband and i planned to visit an island. Swimming, cliff jumping and snorkeling was on the list. I have always been fascinated by snorkeling. So, i thought of giving it a chance for once.
We set off early in the morning for a beach that was near to that particular island.

Screenshot_20180217-120619.jpg

Our destination was a far away cliff that you can see in the above picture.
I was so excited. It was a 45 mintues boat-ride to that cliff. Despite the scroching heat of sun, we enjoyed the ride. I made plenty of pictures and videos.

Screenshot_20180217-120531.jpg

As soon as we reached our destination, the fear started to set in. The waves, i was admiring few minutes back, started to haunt me. That's when i realised what I'm doing, i don't belong here.

Screenshot_20180217-120418.jpg

But the encouragment and motivation of my husband, an expert team of life guards and excited people of our group gave me a second thought. That i should definitely try this.
After watching my husband jumping from several feets high cliff and swimming into the sea for an hour, i finally stood up and put on my snorkeling gear and stepped into the water.
Oh my !!! I couldn't balance myself. I held my husbands hand so tightly while he was trying to make me swim. And yes, i had a life jacket on, so there were no chances of drowning. That's what a life guard keep telling me whenver i panicked. My goal was not to let my head get under the water at any cost. I was feared to death.
I swam for good 10-15 minutes and that's when i lost my balance again. I yelled alot at everyone and pleaded to get me back on the boat. So, after struggling for good 5 minutes, i was back on the boat.
That's when i realised that i had done the most difficult task in the world ( proud feelings) but i have no record of it. Means no picture, no proof that i went into the water. XD
So, this obsession of taking picture to put on facebook, i was once again in the water. XD
This time i was completely under the surface and tried hard to pose for a good picture but that's how i looked. Check thumbnail.

After that i was back in the boat, feeling accomplished. 😄
Later on when we were back home, feeling of accomplishment vanished, when my husband told me that i didnt snorkel properly and that underwater world was so mesmerising. I missed out on that.

But the overall trip was great. One day I'm gonna snorkel properly and enjoy the beauty that lies beneath the ocean.

We need to let go of the fears. And the feeling of accomplishment you get is beyond the euphoria.

P.S. i had an infant to take care of as well during the trip as well. 😝

🔹️Upvote, follow and resteem the post.
🔹️Share your experiences and confessions of fear in the comments and i will upvote you.
🔹️All minnows are invited specially so that we can get to know each other.

📌These pictures were taken by our guides Xtream Divers Karachi.

Sort:  

i followed you so pliz follow me back also :)

I like the way you write . I would somehow prefer if you write a motivational story too. Best of luck for your work up ahead

Thankyou so much !!
Your comment itself is very motivating. I hope to improve and write more

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45