What NOT to do when traveling abroad

in #travel7 years ago

Dear Steemit community,

Over the past years living as an expat in Panama, I've come across some tourist behavior repeatedly, and it needs to stop.

Some of the behavior I witness, I used to be guilty of myself (I once took a starfish out of the water, and now hate myself for it!), so I'm not judging you if you once did one of these things. In fact, most of the time tourists do them without intending any harm, but the result is the same.

I made this little video to show what some people do here while vacationing that really harms the environment, and hopefully it will help educate some future travelers.

There are plenty of other things tourists can do to travel without leaving a huge carbon footprint: For instance, not buying bottled water (instead buy a refillable container), refusing plastic straws in bars and restaurants, or taking your own take-away container with you to avoid using Styrofoam ones.

Any other suggestions?

Sort:  

I think eating local food should be a wise thing to do wherever you are. Imported food have a bigger footprint than the local food. Plus you have tried something new and it's a new experience.

Yes, true =) Always try to buy local, whenever you can! It's also a good way to support the local economy

great video by all means @evecab but I think that a lot of tourists do different behaviors when they are out of their country........they think that they are free from their restricted laws

Thanks @ghadaelsawy I totally agree with you! It's also the biggest thing locals complain about here: the fact that tourists do things that they wouldn't do at home..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55011.75
ETH 2337.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34