Visiting Filandia, Part 3 (final part with video)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Here’s part 3 of the sequel about Filandia, Colombia (you can the first and second blog post here), I’ll leave you with mostly photos of the center of town, as well as a video of our Filandia and our adventures at the bottom.

DSCN0076_Fotor.jpg

DSCN0201_Fotor.jpg

DSCN0100_Fotor.jpg

DSCN0073.JPG

DSCN0137_Fotor.jpg

DSCN0085_Fotor.jpg

Some random facts about Filandia:

  • Coffee is either called café tinto (dark and strong), café medio, or café americano (light)
  • Juices are always natural, from the fruit, and served without sugar
  • You won’t find black pepper in restaurants on the tables, or in dishes
  • Spicy sauce (salsa picante) is called aji
  • Only tourists get cold and wear jackets
  • If you’re vegan or vegetarian, you’re pretty much screwed. Everything has meat and/or cheese in it
  • Life is extremely cheap, but pet stores are expensive for some reason!
  • There are no yellow taxis, only Willies (old-timer Jeepsfrom the 50’s, see picture below)

DSCN0211_Fotor.jpg

DSCN0148_Fotor.jpg

DSCN0218_Fotor.jpg

DSCN0125_Fotor.jpg

DSCN0134_Fotor.jpg

DSCN0192_Fotor.jpg

All in all, I was positively impressed by this little town, its people and life there in general. I sincerely hope that it will not turn into another expat town full of American and European retirees, who will change the local way of life to impose their gringo lifestyle, just like in Boquete, Panama. This inevitably makes life too expensive for the locals. I don’t think this will happen anytime soon, mainly because of Colombia’s bad rep and the currency issue (the USD is worth about COP 3,000 today).

If you liked this post, an upvote and comment is always appreciated, and feel free to follow me for more travel blogs to come =)

Sort:  

I cant stop reading "Finlandia" :D But yeah, it looks like a cool city/area :) Reminds me of Puerto de la Cruz on Tenerife, Spain :)

ahaha Iknow I had the same problem at first LOL. Dunno why they left out the "n"

I love it! I'm planning a visit to South America, your photos have so much emotion and peace, I'm definitely visiting here :)

Thank you @arbitrarykitten, your comment is much appreciated! Let me know if you do visit, and I'd be happy to help with recommendations about what to see =)

That is very awesome of you! Thanks! I'll definitely take you up on that <3

@originalworks

These photos are beautiful! I love the local information. I'd be all in with the natural juices!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @evecab to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!


This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.

Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

I accept =)

I love the way you present your post and the colors into it, I just follow you from the discord chat and want to boost you, don't hesitate to come back on my post we can help each other for this long run! @evecab


Join the Kucoin Exchange and get the christmas reward!

thank you for the compliment, @jimy74! I'm only seeing this comment now, sorry for replying so late!

Amazing shots :) Definitely on my list to go one day, kind of dream country, thank you very much for sharing, definitely earns a resteem! #keepsteem

Filandia is a place?? photographs are likable sounds enjoyable

yes it is a cute little town in Colombia =)

amazing post and outstanding video!

Colombia is really beautiful from your pictures @evecab. I love those pictures. Keep it up.

@seyiodus.

thanks girl =) I appreciate the feedback!

Very nice view. I would love to come here

it's gorgeous, @michaelcj, I recommend visiting. Let me know if you do and I'd be happy too give you some recommendations!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60875.99
ETH 3386.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57