How I travelled across Australian desert three hours’ notice and blind faith

in #travel7 years ago

0N7A6085.jpg

I was attending a rainbow gathering in the south west region of Western Australia with a group of individuals I never met before. Imagine something on the lines of Burning man mixed with a commune community. So much self-expression. So much time for your mind to create whatever you chose. A place of creativity.

I feel in love with the place. I promised my girlfriend at the time I would stay at this event for two weeks to un-wind after a hectic six months, self-work, poly relationships and a dynamic mixture of roller coaster after roller coaster.
This wild animal needed to be let out.

So I took that leap of comfort with without any knowledge nor evidence and made a choice,

I stayed an extra week and boy this is when the groundwork began. Being disconnected to technology and reconnected to nature.

I met a guy called Luke, he was in his early forties and owned a ti pi he bought off a lady he ran into on his travels, He had convoyed across the country starting in Queensland with a group of nomadic travelers.

The Nullarbor, A dream of mine for years, it always crept up on me and pulled my desire, the fire was churning away. I asked him, do you have a spare seat on the return, thinking I’d be crossing the Nullarbor,

He said yes, I should do.

I knew in that instance I had seeded something grand. Something I couldn’t see or perceive.
I couldn’t believe it. About two weeks later. I ran into Luke and the crew, he asked, so brother are you still interested in traveling across the country, with blind faith I mustered the courage to say “Yes!!”

While sitting in the passenger seat of his big Ute, I couldn’t put into materialistic thought what would happen next.

It was 11:30pm, the five of us, Luke, Sarah, Tyler, Izun (Ben) drove down to the beach to camp the night, we’d come across a few police who warned us there were indigenous guys robbing cars in the car-park,

So Luke instinctively borrowed some permanent markers of mine and drew a one mob indigenous flag on both doors of his Ute, not knowing this would help us along the way into the near future.

0N7A6385.jpg

It was reaching 1am in the morning, I hadn’t packed nor processed the crazy antics I was about to put myself into.

0N7A6032.jpg

Day 1 - Journal Entry

31-10-17

How does one put into words the past few days, what an emotional tug and pull, to manifest and put myself in exactly the place I wanted to be? To Travel through this unknown land. I knew I had grand plans. From words to actions I took the plunge, now where could this take me. Connecting to my dreams and the stories that have put me in the passenger’s seat of Luke’s car. With an open mind and no expectations. All my gut is telling me is to wander.

The musical wanderer with such a beautiful rainbow family, gifting me this gracious journey. I see trees, I see leaves. My pens shaking from the bouncing and bumping of the changing road. A mate of mine Kyle recommended the journey. Another brother of mine Jarrah told me to surrender. Well I see nothing more than surrendering to this crazy flow, letting go and growing. Hearing Jaspa, (A friend of mine) filled with admiration at the Halloween party (Massive Bush Party), seeing the progression and the contrasting highs and lows. Connecting a beautiful soul and holding another conscious mind in my arms. Learning to be picky with the beautiful women that keep calling into my existence.

Learning to be the driver in my life. It’s easy to be in the passenger’s seat. Drive the fire, you keep lighting and igniting. Delightful creatures it’s that simple. It’s in you, it always has been. There’s no need to escape from the drama. Face the music. This road reminds me of the skydiving I did, with an Austrian Girl Named Stefanie out in York, WA. It’s true trust in the unknown safeties that are ahead of me.

We made it to a small town called Coolgardie and camped the night on the side of the road under the stars, boy what a crazy few hours before we got here,

End of Part 1

Next part next Wednesday :)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! Glad to see some new faces!

oh, such wonderful tales.. cannot wait to read more :) you are such a talented writer <3 and I finally understand the history behind that huge car, that was a picture on your fb a while ago and now I made the connection :)

Welcome to Steemit bro! Love the story and will be following. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18