[Student life in Italy] License of Residence and Public Transportation

in #travel6 years ago

Something came to me from Italian memories. That means chatting with friends for a few hours on skype. A few hours, and so many emotions ... In one word - nostalgic.

image

Milano Dal Tram

I will not be afraid, I will immediately say that the most "exciting" adventure with me took place on the first night, when I just flew to the Italian fashion capital, and the others are not as frightening as it is. Although, maybe after that night, I'm ready for anything.

Upon arriving in Italy, I immediately went to look at the documents. I need to get a Permesso or ID card, which is a permit to stay in Italy. In Milan, I flew with a student program: at the university we were given a package of documents and forms to fill out, filled and taken to the post office.

In all these bureaucracies, I "smile" by the special brands that can be bought at the Tabacchi booth, which is practical, on every corner. Mark should be attached to the previously received and filled in university form. Then, the entire document package must be attributed to the main post office, located near the Duomo. There, after we paid a certain amount, we were given a certificate of receipt of documents.

After that, we can only wait, when they will call or write from the police station and invite to the reception. How long will it take? Lucky. SMS someone comes in a few weeks after filing a document, and someone later. But you got all the sms!

image

*

At the appointed time, we came to the police station. We took fingerprints and asked some questions to us. And they said to wait. This expectation is the most difficult. Someone receives a call within 3-4 months, when this Permesso is not necessary. The received permesso duration for all is also different. One boy, when he receives this card, the deadline also ends :) No need to extend the understanding. In addition, to extend, need to collect the document again, pay again and wait again. In addition, it is not allowed to travel outside Italy.

I am personally lucky, my one year stay permit with a tail.

image

*

At the university, in addition to the Residence Permit application form, we were given another form to get a ticket. We also filled it and drove it to a special office ATM transportation company, which in Milan there are few, but we went to the station Duomo. There we were sfotkali, I, as usual, out of the curve-tilt, but employees in the office assure that "Bella!". Paying for the card and during the month of travel, we got a travel card, which operates from 1 to 31, eg. more profitable to fill or buy at the beginning of the month.

In Italy, as in most European countries, there are specific rules for those aged 26 years and over. For those over the age of 26, the fare is higher. It does not matter whether you are a student or not.

image

*

A month-long trip of about 35 euros, for those aged less than 26 years. There are also other tickets for 1 trip or 1 day. They are sold at Tabacchi booth, costing 1.60 euros and 4.50 euros respectively. In tram and travel card tickets must be attached to a special machine. No controllers on the tram. Very rarely come uncles in the yellow vest to check tickets and catch the "rabbit." But it happens very rarely and usually at night.

Our smart pupils recharge their travel cards in just 1 month, then buy 1-2 tickets in one direction. Sitting on the tram, standing near these vehicles, where the idea is to validate the ticket, that no one is in a hurry to do so. And they stand near them should the controllers suddenly descend, and thus allow to immediately enter the ticket to the machine. Because, to have a small ticket, you have to validate it, otherwise there will be PENALTIES!

On the subway, such tricks do not always work. At some stations, to take the subway, need to enter a ticket to the revolving door. But there are some stations like that. At most stations there is an open revolving door, which allows it to be skipped without spending any money.

image

For half a year in Milan, some of our students were sent to controllers. But, coincidence and luck, they pay a fine of 60 euros only once.

image

Public transport in Venice

With transportation in Italy, there are various incidents. Specifically, with these tickets and validation in the vending machine. If you are going to the airport, it is better to validate the ticket. I have a chance. I went to the airport, again - Malpensa. I bought a ticket at Bovisa station. That morning morning. No one at the station. The rotary door does not work. I found a machine to cross out my ticket honestly, but it did not work. What should I do? I took the train. Halfway to the airport came to me the controller. And he said that I have to pay a fine! We had a long dialogue with him. Why should all the dark passengers have to tell me "Thank you".

image

Trenitalia train tickets

And the dialogue is this:

  • Your ticket does not hit the machine!
  • Yes, because the machine does not work in the station.
  • You still have to pay a fine!
  • Why? I can not be blamed for the fact that your automatic machine is not working.
  • We have rules.
  • In order for people to comply with these rules, you need to monitor that your machine is working.
  • You must pay a fine!
  • I am a student and I have no money for fines. I gave the last money for the ticket (I decided to try another way and put pressure on compassion, because the argument did not help).
  • Once you're a student, you should be able to read. And the ticket says that it needs to be validated before it goes up.
  • I read everything. But the ticket does not say what to do if the machine does not work. And in general, the ticket is the date when I bought the ticket. And I bought it just before boarding.
  • Well, buy now another ticket, not a fine, and this ticket is used on the way back.
  • I will not come back here again and I do not need a new ticket. I have my ticket, which I bought for this trip (Other tickets are definitely better than good, but I've decided not to give up and keep going until the end).
  • How not to return?
  • I'm going to the airport to leave Italy. (In fact, I go 100 times to Malpensa later, but a little lie is forgiven ...).
  • Well, here's your ticket. But next time, please validate the ticket at the station.
  • Grazie mille!

By the way, from / to Malpensa airport or Bergamo you can get there by bus, stop at central station. Tickets cost 5 euro one way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58889.18
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47