Stockholm

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

When traveling it seems that local guide is new must. Someone that is willing to show us around the city and knows all the nice places that a photo enthusiast want to visit. Our guide turned out to be more than fine because as said before we all love some hoity toitiness in our life and my friend who worked this weekend as out guide had really nice places to show us.

Private rooftop terrace in way too expensive real estate, private bar all for us, and sceneries above the roofs of Stockholm. We realize that we are horrible company to have if you don’t get photographing. We are always lost or squirrel around, you end up waiting in every street corner and just cussing you ever promised to show us around.

Luckily this wasn’t the case this time. Even if my friend doesn’t photograph too much himself he really did know what we wanted to see. Though I’m pretty sure he doesn’t want to anyone mentioning ”drama in the sky” for him for a while. We really needed to hunt drama for a bit. Weather was changing from all gray and rainy everything to clear sky and everything between. As it should when it comes to traditional Scandinavian midsummer.

When we arrived to Stockholm centrum the first thing we needed was coffee, in the cafe we started to talk with this American girl who needed a little help with her Swedish. She was asking what was our plan for the weekend and we simply went with the ”photographing”- answer.

She was surprised that we weren’t going to take part any festivities there was and she told that her Swedish friend said that all girls should wear white dress and flower crown on their hear and that in Swedish traditional midsummer festivities there is dancing and singing.

We changed brief glance with Eve and said that we are not going to do that. I just can’t imagine the scenery where I wear white dress and flower crown and start to sing and dance. Even when we were quite heavily intoxicated the sky was the only thing we were thinking. But how well did we actually manage that is totally different thing.

All the places we visited I preferred the high ground places with stunning view. I don’t even care that I took way too many generic tourist photos from Stockholm skyline. I just adore the Scandinavian feeling everywhere.

Other that generic tourist photos, my personal goal for this trip was take good photos from my friends. I have endless amounts of photos from @eveuncovered but 99% of those are horrible.

Okay, it also works the other way around, all photos she has from me are horrible too. We call these photos ”weapons”. (@)Cornerstone of our friendship. But even if I managed to get really nice shots from our guide and Eve the ratio between nice and horrible shots is still off. So need to work a little bit more for that…

The best shots are usually the ones we have camera on our faces. OR the funny sceneries which happen during taking photos, like drunken Eve climbing on the railing of the balcony just to capture the view, no hazardous at all.

P.s She didn't even get the picture because she was way too drunk for taking photos. Alive and well tho!

We spend also day in Uppsala, city near Stockholm, it is even more green than Stockholm! This time we had not one but two local guides, mainly just to have a playmate for the original guide so he wouldn’t just ditch us and leave.

The weapon of choice is, well, ofc, Canon EOS 800D


See, there is proof, I smile, sometimes!


OH! A good photo from Eve, and guess what, there is camera on her face!

Sort:  

Some beautiful pics. Thank you escapist!
I love the stone streets and old buildings buried in thick, green, grown in settings. They are both old, settled and comfortable... yet modern and well maintained. You captured them so well.
You guys look like you are having fun. Great to see!
P.S. - Please thank the guide(s) for us. What ever they went through while entertaining and guiding you two was worth it. ;)

Aww thanks cornerstone! We really had fun time and our guide too, even if he doesn’t admit it 😂

Loooooove those darker photos.
Reminds me of the series Gotham a little.

I just adore the feeling of danger in them. The first one is my personal favourite ^^

Rabbits may surprise you on observatory hill (near Sveavägen street) at the evening hours. Try it

Unfortunately we are heading home today:( so no evening hours for us.


Your friendship makes me wonder- assuming that both you and Eve would fall in love with me. Would you share me or would you fight over me?😉

I see no viking king here, so there will be no fighting nor sharing.

I see no viking
King here, so there will be no
Fighting nor sharing.

                 - escapist


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Nää kuvat on kyllä nannaa silmille, varsinkin tuo eka, joka on niin synkkä ja toivottoman näköinen – tuosta sävystähän on tulossa jo sun tavaramerkki. Aa että.

Vois olla paljon paskempikin tavaramerkki!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46