Would you dare eat something coocked in this kitchen?

in #travel6 years ago

On my first trip to Thailand I loved to drive around in the rural areas of what is known as Isaan. I took the bus to Buriram where I rented a scooter and drove around and saw the real Thailand and all its fantastic 1000 year old Khmer temples.
I talked with so many friendly people and were often invited to dine with them.

I met this old lady outside a small shop where I had stopped to get some liquid and she insisted that I went with her to her home and have some food, I had asked the owner of the shop where I might find a place to get some local food.
Having been working in Africa some years I was not unaccustomed to field kitchens.

DSC03341.JPG

She did cook a splendid meal and were so friendly that it is hard to believe, that she did not speak a word English and me not a word Thai did not matter at the time.

DSC03343.JPG

Here is one of the nice dishes.

DSC03344.JPG

This is just one of the pleasures of avoiding the popular tourist destinations where you mostly are met with ripoffs instead of friendliness.

Pictures taken with a Sony Cybershot.

If you like this small post from my travels around the world don't be shy to hit that thumbs up button.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by eropromo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94