You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tales from Svalbard: Inside an Ice Cave

in #travel7 years ago

Thanks for sharing your adventure with us all, it is greatly appreciated here.

The relevance of your last questions are extremely pertinent and underline the seriousness of the situation we are stating to be aware of relating to global warming. I have personally taken upon myself to travel less and use my vehicle the least I can.

Meanwhile, having realized that rush anywhere doesn't help anyone on the long-run, I have decided to slow down and rush as slowly as possible for matters of sustainability including health and resources preservation.

Equally important, is the value given and shared of what it is to be human: On one level, the product of millennia of evolution for the natural world in which we are all living and depend on. It has been proven over and over again that any person spending valuable time in nature will transmit the value of nature to their children and relations. Even more so, any child spending quality time outside as they grow up will in the greatest of odds possible become a protector of this environmental space in which they have grown into.

As you pause so well in the end, it is important for the ones having the incommensurable opportunities experienced in nature to share with the ones who can't and, maybe even more importantly, with the ones who don't see the value in it and want to use it for short-sighted egotistical purposes.

Thanks again for a quality posting, all for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Sort:  

Hi eric-boucher, thank you for stopping by and for your very thoughtful and though-provoking comment! That's great to hear that you've taken it upon yourself to make efforts towards environmental conservation. I haven't had a car since I've moved to Norway, and I am fortunate to be able to walk to work. It's been nice to feel that I perhaps have a slightly smaller footprint as a result, and I really haven't missed having a car terribly.

I do love travelling and to scenic nature areas in particular, and plan to do a lot more in the future, but I am always thinking that I ought to strive to do it in an environmentally-conscious manner. That's perhaps one of my long-term goals with posting here, that maybe I can satisfy my wanderlust while simultaneously sharing both the experiences themselves as well as insight into doing so conscientiously (transmit the value of nature to Steemit as you described people doing with their children, perhaps).

Thanks again for taking time to engage in this topic, and hope to see you around on here as our adventures continue!

Taking the car away from the equation of your footprint impact lowers your points by at least six degrees! Good for you, good for us all.

Here's an example of the last article I wrote, though there are a lot more I have written in my blog...

I hope you enjoy, keep your smile and taking good care, namaste :)

https://steemit.com/travel/@eric-boucher/unveiling-a-summer-of-love-adventures-and-photographic-journeying-in-lake-o-hara-yoho-national-park-part1-2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54657.34
ETH 2331.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14