You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trip to Polignano a Mare, Italy

in #travel6 years ago

You are a very good and unpretentious story teller and nevertheless can transport such a specific mood to your texts. Well done.
Italy is a really interesting country to visit. I only were there once and I fell in love with architecture, food and art.

Your idea to publish a book with that little doors I do like a lot. Doors being used as identity representatives for the people living there, what artistic folks do live there?

LOL, I like that you admire that guy without even having understood him.

A bon bon in the end: The Borg cube. Bummer, you could not talk to the locals, they probably are the ones responsible for rescuing Picard.

I think, no one should know of this place. It should remain in the secret corners of that land ... smile, just kidding. ... or not?

Pleasure to have found you.

Sort:  

Hi @erh.germany, thanks for stopping by! I really appreciate your comments, it is encouraging to hear that my work is appreciated.

So I had the same experience as you, falling in love with the food, architecture and art. This was our 3rd trip to Italy. The first was to Rome, then second to Florence and then this one. Rome and Florence were obviously fantastic because of the art and history, but Polignano is a really special place to me because I really felt like I came to understand the heart of the Italian people there. As I mentioned in the post, there were very few foreign tourists there so it really felt like we were getting the authentic Italian experience.

The book idea is definitely still in the back of my head. We took so many pictures of doors and they are all so unique! I really intend to do it, so it is just a matter of setting aside the time and putting the effort into it. But I will do it! hehe

Oh yeah, that guy with the guitar was such a lovely guy. I have no idea how we managed it, but somehow we had a conversation with him for about an hour or so. We used hand symbols, and he knew the odd English word; plus I could understand some Italian by converting it into Spanish. He was telling us about how his father was a famous stunt man in Italian movies. Then he sang us a bunch of songs and put Amanda's name in the lyrics. Such a sweet person!

LOL! Maybe Locutus was in that Borg cube. Poor Captain Picard!

So maybe Polignano should remain a secret. I would hate too much tourism to ruin it, but it is hard not to talk about it. This trip was a couple of years ago and I did notice that they were building a hotel on the outskirts of town. I am sure that it's done by now and I hope that it doesn't change the feel of the town.

... Rarely one makes the experience not understanding each other by language. I can remember some scenes in my childhood and also during vacation in Spain. It's funny and interesting to get along only with gestures and facial expressions. Like a theatre play! Within working space it is truly annoying and I always appreciate to have a translator next to me when I talk to foreigners.

Good luck with that book of doors. Or I should say: Good start as it's always just a matter of beginning.

Locutus just flew by but I was not interesting enough to be assimilated.

... Polignano ... ? what is that? ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63064.62
ETH 2460.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66