Copan Ruins 'Mayan Ruins in Honduras'

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

foto3.jpg
(Rosalila Temple)

Here as promised, as I said before I will post about my country of origin and I would like to start with one of the most famous places that are in my country, the mayan ruins of copan, is funny to said that I started to travel a lot to other countries but my visit to this place was recent, and let me tell you was an amazing, and its true what they say you dont know what you have untill you loose it, I have almost 5 years living abroad in these years is when I started to worth my country, also to be more critic about other things but that is another topic.
So after travelling to many places in these years I finally came back to my country in summer vacations, I manage to travel to places which I hadn't visited before, Copan is one of these, so for the people that don't know Copan Ruins are mayan ruins that are in Honduras close to the ruins there is also the village of Copan which is interesting to see the contrasts of a mayan city and typical colonial spanish village.
SAM_0511.JPG
SAM_0445.JPG

You may think that Mayan ruins are only in Mexico or Guatemala, but there is also in Honduras, but have to notice that this place is close to the border of Honduras with Guatemala, in fact from here I made an express trip to Esquipulas in Guatemala, but I will tell you in a different time.
I have to say that my visit was amazing if I have the chance I would like to come back, the only problem is that is quite far from the capital Tegucigalpa like 10-12 hours by bus if Im not mistaken. And I dont know you but Im a little bit picky about travelling by bus.
SAM_0442.JPG

Apart from that I recommend it 100% the visit to the ruins, and one advise is to hire a touristic guide , I made the mistake to just buy the entrance ticket and when you enter even though that there are signs explaining what the objects are, you may get bored and lost reading and not appreciating, and I was lucky that found a men that was able to explained to me at least the basics of the structures, and I could enjoy more and learn amazing facts, about the mayan society and history of my country.

SAM_0513.JPGSAM_0505.JPG
(He is the man who tought me about it)

SAM_0622.JPG
(Mayan staircase, writing in hieroglyphs the longest of Americas)
SAM_0560.JPG
(Q altar, where every ruler of Copan was recorded)
SAM_0593.JPG
(Dancing Jaguar :D :D seems mayans had also sense of humor)

Apart from the whole land where the ruins are located there is also a museum where you can see original pieces taken from the excavations. I think is a most to see, here is where the Rosalila temple the one in the photo of the beggining is.
SAM_0681.JPG
SAM_0711.JPG

And after a long day observing to the past me and my mom, forgot to mention haha, I was travelling with her, so after the long day we have a great dinner with traditional Honduran food which is very simple I would say but wonderful and tasty.
SAM_0714.JPG

SAM_0469.JPG

So summarizing was an amazing experience if you have the chance of visit Honduras or Copan Ruinas, you will enjoy I have my ups and downs but as any trip it depends on your attitude, I will leave the post here to not make it so long, hope you liked it, so guys comment if you have visited Honduras or want to, please tell me in which aspects I could get better on my posts, an any other suggestions. Wish you a good day. :D :D :D

Sort:  

Wow beautiful post, thanks. I might go visit this place. I am in Guatemala right now and haven't seen any ruins yet. haha, too busy with crypto. Keep going mate!

haha I think the crypto world is really absorbing, hope you can visit my country then :) :) I think Guatemala has nice places also but I have to promote mine first haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51