Disney world and Mission space (What Disney is not telling)

in #travel8 years ago

I created a tradition in my family to take my nephew every other year for his birthday to Disney World’s theme park. We went to Epcot only were able to do two rides : Fast Track and Mission space.

Our Mission Space Experience

When we approached Mission space entrance, the line was split into TWO lines. A Disney attendant asked us “Which line do you want to pick?” – I replied : “What’s the difference?” – the attendant replied: “The line on the left is for slow ride and the line on the right is for a slow ride also but it adds a bit of pressure that’s not significant”. I figured well if it’s not too much pressure and at the same speed, we’ll pick the right line. The line moved surpassingly fast. We were in line for about 5 minutes and then we were directed at small space ship like cabin. The cabin could fit 4-5 people at once. My nephew and I sat on the right side and a couple maybe from Germany or from other European country sat on the left.



After Disney’s attendant closed our doors from both sides, the space was very cluster phobic and there wasn’t much room to move. I was sitting elbow to elbow to this other woman from Germany. As soon as our “flight” had started, I felt an enormous pressure as we were performing our fake “lift off”. To me it felt like my face was left somewhere behind me. My nephew was laughing hysterically but the woman that was sitting next to me began moaning and yelling at her boyfriend/husband/fiancee “I don’t feel good, Oh My God, I am going to be sick, Let me OUT”. He tried to calm her down telling her to hold on it will be over soon…

A ride from hell

All I was thinking to myself to keep calm and I could not wait till this ride was over!!! Imagine getting on the ride and wishing it’d be over asap.

The pressure kept building up and it felt as if my head was getting squeezed. I kept asking my nephew if he was ok? He nodded but wasn’t laughing anymore and told me he was about to become sick. I told him to hold on and while I said those words, the woman sitting next to me began to scream!!! The ride continued, there was no emergency button to stop the ride nor to call the attendant. The woman began vomiting violently and she was vomiting blood. I got scared and afraid. My foot in my sandal was covered with blood now and my nephew was yelling “She’s vomiting strawberries”. I did not want to tell him they weren’t strawberries and just wanted for the ride to end asap.



The gentleman sitting next to that woman tried to comfort her by opening a water bottle and making a wet towel and applied wet towel to her forehead. The woman kept moaning and saying now that she was going to die!!! I was scared and I felt an adrenaline rush in my body. Not due to the stupid ride but because I was upset that none of us could really do anything to help this woman.

As soon as the ride was over, and an attendant opened our doors, I yelled out “we need an ambulance”. We picked our bags up and left the cabin while leaving the cabin, the woman was still throwing up and she looked as pale as a white wall. The man sitting next to her had a scared look on his face and was trying to make her more comfortable.



The Disney workers didn’t react at first and maybe they thought I was joking, because one of them already wanted to sit new people on our sits but then he saw a pool of blood on the floor and used his walkie talkie to call for help.  

Undisclosed facts

There were no warming signs before the ride and the Disney’s worker failed to give us proper warning. Actually TWO people have died on this ride so far. A 4-year-old boy and a 49-year-old German woman she died in 2005. If I had known that this particular ride had fatalities, not in a million years I would’ve gone on that ride or put my nephew in danger!



When we walked out of that ride, my nephew and I both were very sick. We both experienced very bad nausea and could barely stand on our fit and witnessing such graphic violent sickness of that woman who was sitting next to me in such close proximities made it even worse!

I don’t understand it, if people have died from this ride and others had to be taken to hospitals with serious even critical conditions, why Disney Corporation hasn’t closed this ride to the public? It’s obviously dangerous and even if a person thinks he/she is healthy, they may get very sick on this ride and even die!



The only warning sign I saw before we boarded on that ride was “If you are pregnant, you should NOT go on this ride”. Since I wasn’t pregnant I went with my nephew and we both became very sick. So sick that we had to sit for an hour on bench and drink water to be able to walk again.

The conclusion : If you plan on attending rides in Disney World, search the Internet to read if a particular ride had any cases of fatal accidents etc. Disney doesn’t disclose that information to the public. The well being of family is in your hands. It looks like it’s your responsibility to research, investigate, ask questions before boarding any ride at Disney World.

Sort:  

This is HORRIFYING. I can't believe they wouldn't reveal something like this. It's scary.

I agree, people should be very careful especially if they go there with kids.

This is important information. It's sad that you had to go through this. Hopefully the woman recovered.

I really hope this information will be useful to somebody.

This ride was under renovation when I went to Epcot last Thursday. Apparently they are working on the motion sickness issues and making the ride less intense. Hopefully when the renovation is complete there will be far fewer issues

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60531.60
ETH 2905.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33