Being an expat, you never get to go on vacation...

in #travel7 years ago

Being an expat - I'm a dane living in L.A. - I never get to go on a real vacation because all my vacation time and money are spent visiting my family and friends in Denmark. I'm not complaining, I love visiting there, I just sometimes would like to go to maybe ... Thailand? Lay on a beach and drink yummy coconut drinks... ;-)

I just came back from a 3 week "vacation" in Denmark. I put vacation in quotes because it's extremely stressful to try to visit everyone you know, preferably more than once, and they all live in different areas of the country while also doing work on the PC several days a week. I spent one and half week at my in-laws, and we'd drive to other towns on day trips to visit friends and family members, plus I had a gig.

Then I spent a week an half at my mom's while also visiting people, shooting a music video one day, working - and showing my friend who was visiting from Berlin Copenhagen.

I have 5 siblings, lots of nieces and some nephews, then add my husband's family and many friends. This is a total blessing! I just wish I had more time there and didn't have to work!

I did have a total blast and loved every minute, all the people, all the food and all the wine! I'm just very exhausted now and gained a few pounds... LOL!

IMG_1885.JPG

IMG_1726.JPG

IMG_1671.JPG

IMG_1727.JPG

IMG_1765.JPG

IMG_1739.JPG

IMG_1902.JPG

IMG_1911.JPG

IMG_1741.JPG

IMG_1684.JPG

IMG_1894.JPG

https://www.emmacairo.com

Sort:  

I feel ya! I emigrated to Southeast Asia in 2012 and despite what people might think, it is hard to find holiday time! The key is to not go home make your family members come and see you for the holidays. Then, they get a new experience and you can save money for a trip to Thailand lol.

Anyhow, if you enjoy travel have a look at my blog. I am currently focused in Vietnam. Happy trails!

Good advice! If only I could get all of them to come! But my dad and my in-laws won't travel that far...
Thank you, I'll check it out! :-)

haha yes, I have family and friends that wont make the long haul either. Guess thats part of living abroad! Thanks and good luck!

I'm thinking of living abroad, but I'd prefer my family and friends to visit me, so they can have their vacations XD

This post has received a 0.51 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @emmacairo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34