This is why you don’t find your favorite online delivery place on google map!

in #travel5 years ago (edited)


This post is inspired by an hour-long search to find out the location of a restaurant listed on Swiggy, the food delivery app, and google map not showing any result.

Later on, searching the restaurant's name led me to this new concept (not so new in 2019) of Cloud kitchens. Once I came to know about the existence of these virtual kitchens (not really virtual), I understood most of the food I order online comes from such facilities. I found it really interesting and thought of sharing this Easter-wisdom.

What are Cloud Kitchens?

Cloud kitchens are designed for the sole purpose of online delivery of food. That being said they are just a kitchen space and lack the dine-in facility. No, they are not like the typical takeaways either. Cloud kitchens have only the kitchen where they prepare food and distribute only through online orders. This means the chef gets to do his/her job in peace and less expense for the owner(s).

cloud kitchen

There are different names too, Ghost kitchen, dark kitchen, all refer to the same kind of facility. These kitchens are on the rise and most of the classic chain restaurants are also converting into cloud kitchens. When was the last time you went to a restaurant? I prefer having a good meal at the comfort of my home too.

Are There Any Cloud Kitchens In India?

If you're someone who loves to order from the bowl company, fasoos or fresh menu, chances are you were being served from a cloud kitchen. Online food ordering apps like Swiggy, Zomato, Uber eats, all have menus from these kitchens listed. There are many such kitchens near where I stay in Banglore which explains why I don’t get to see the restaurants I generally order from when I go outside to eat.

My Cloud Kitchen Discovery Story

Easter back home is always a special day for obvious reasons. But the highlight of the day is the food, especially after the lent which my parents always take, having a lot of our favorite food is just bliss. But, whenever I am away from home for festivals like this, there is this urge to go outside my room and eat at a nice place.

This year, since I am in Banglore (though they say Hebbal is not Banglore!) I have been searching for restaurants to eat on Easter. I always was impressed by The Bowl Company’s listing on Swiggy. There were two addresses for the bowl company near my place.

So, I started searching for the location. After searching for a long time by all the possible ways, and doubting my browsing skills, I found about the “Cloud kitchen” concept instead of a location.

cloud kitchen

Well, so I ordered from the bowl company on an easter day, spread everything on a mat on the terrace and had a good lunch.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://elsaenroute.com/this-is-why-you-dont-find-your-favorite-online-delivery-place-n-google-map/
Sort:  

Hello to all. By making cooking easier and more accessible, HelloFresh has inspired people to explore new flavors, experiment with a variety of cuisines, and embrace healthier eating habits. Moreover, its user-friendly approach empowered people who were previously intimidated by the kitchen and helped them gain confidence in their cooking abilities. Today, thousands of customers use their services, and hellofresh reviews say that they are very happy that they subscribed and became their customers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49