Travel - The Devil Went Down to Georgia

in #travel7 years ago

Traveling to Georgia is definitely like stepping into a different way of life (coming from the Northeast that is). This is the second time I've been down to Valdosta, GA to visit my sister and her family. It reminds me a lot of the super bumble boonies we grew up in, in South Jersey (Cumberland).
,cmc.jpg
I never get a window seat, since I'm either A) flying alone and get defaulted to a middle seat or B) flying with someone who won't do a middle seat. Luckily I was flying in the morning hours so I was able to get cool pics on the first flight where I had one of these rare gems called free window seats.
,sjdksjf.jpg
Unfortunately, you need two flights to get to Valdosta. First is Philly to Atlanta (super quick, super cheap, and super convenient flight times) Second is Atlanta to Valdosta (adds $350 to a $100 flight, only makes 3 trips a day, almost always running off schedule) The regional airport is so small that it's just one big room, like the guy who checks you in, runs you at security, puts you on the plane lol). Next time I think I might give in and just rent a car and make the 5 hour drive from Atlanta to Valdosta.

I always like to find a sit down restaurant in between flights when I have the time and I went to Phillips Seafood Restaurant for breakfast and had a delicious crab cake and egg dish. They are the same brand that makes that yummy seasoning, and the crab cake here was sooooo good.
,xzc,nc.jpg

I spent three days down there July 4th weekend and it was pretty tame. My nephew is going on 4 years old next month, so our time is usually spent just doing things around the house and running out to local restaurants and shopping. He is the cutest kid and really just wants to show off toys (I call them his major awards).
zckjf.jpg
We went to one restaurant that they need to build ASAP in Philly, it was called Cheddars. Reminded me of a Ruby Tuesdays, but I would take this chain restaurant over most chains here, anytime.

It's big in the South to do fireworks, so loaded up and spent a good hour watching my sister's husband battle it out with a neighbor a few streets over. The neighborhood she lives in has its own Facebook page that I joined and it is 24/7 entertainment, so I was hoping to run into a few neighborhood celebs but didn't see anyone. A few posts I've seen include - a lady's cat getting run over (they let it roam outside freely mind you) and she threatened to run down children in the future, the super bored stay-at-home moms that post about the "weird car" that's been sitting on the corner for more than 5 minutes, the police being called over someone's car parked facing the wrong way, and the typical blame game of who's animals keep using Debbie's lawn as a bathroom. Highly entertaining, but no signatures were obtained this trip.

Overall, I love being able to spend family time with my sister, nephew, and brother-in-law so I really need to get down there more often.
zckjf.jpg

Yes, I'm obsessed with Snapchat filters

Sort:  

Welcome to Community! Wish you lot's of Success and fun when it's comes to posting on Steemit, will be following you and perhaps you should follow me back, especially if you're into content like Cryptocurrencies & Steemit

Welcome to Steem Community @elleseelx! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

great thanks!

I love snapchat filters hahaha great photos

Let me welcome you to this community @Elleseelx . I'm @chrisx and if you need any help don't hesitate to contact or follow me :-)

thanks Chris

welcome here @Elleseelx :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Hello @elleseelx. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

thanks david

Congratulations @elleseelx! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Your photos are freaking amazing! @elleseelx

thanks matthew

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84