My journey at Glenbow Art Museum in Calgary, Canada (About Miss Chief Eagle Testickle, Canadian History, and Buddhism)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

2018-01-24-12-34-12-062.jpg


When I was in Calgary I went to Glenbow art museum, where I had an opportunity to see one of the most famous Canadian living artist, Kent Monkman. His “Shame and Prejudice: A Story of Resilience” collection was displayed. This collection was created as a response to Canada 150 sesquicentennial celebrations. It is a story about the dark side of Canadian history. Kent Monkman’s gender bending, time travelling alter-ego, Miss Chief Eagle Testickle is the guide on a journey through Canada’s history that starts in the present and takes us back to the years around Confederation. Miss Chief leads us through the harsh urban environment of Winnipeg’s north end and contemporary life on the reserve, and all the way back to the extermination of the bison.


Here are some pictures of his paintings from the collection..



2018-01-24-11-43-38-329.jpg

2018-01-24-11-44-06-748.jpg

2018-01-24-11-45-03-383.jpg

I guess I didn’t think a lot about Canada’s history before, but this collection made me stop at every painting for several minutes at least! I don’t think I ever spent so much time reading and just looking at the paintings before.

After couple hours of looking at his collection, we finally moved to other rooms of museum where we found propeller airplane made of wood and leather. I never seen anything like that before, so I had to take a picture. This piece is a part of Native American history in Canada.

2018-01-24-11-47-54-742.jpg

...and then we moved to Asian art, which was mostly about Buddhism.
Buddhism is one of those religions that I actually like. In fact I don’t even consider it as a religion, as some people might say - it is a way of living.

Palden Lhamo - is a protecting Dharmapala of the Gelug school of Tibetan Buddhism. She is the wrathful deity considered to be the principal protectress of Tibet.

2018-01-24-11-49-19-815.jpg

...and here I am with Buddha Sculpture.

2018-01-24-11-47-08-454.jpg

One of my favorite Buddha’s quotes is - “No one saves us but ourselves. No one can and no one may. We ourselves must walk the path.”

I guess it is something that really relates to my life. I try not to forget this quote because it helps me go forward.

Overall, it was an extremely pleasant experience in Calgary and at the Glenbow art museum. I hope you enjoyed my journey at this great museum :)



Source 1 Source 2





Pictures were taken with Samsung Galaxy s8.

promo11.jpg

CHAT Discord Channel Invite

Sort:  

Ah! Cool! I love Kent Monkman. I actually have a degree in Native American studies and masters in curating contemporary Native art, so I'm a big big fan. Looks like Donald Trump might show up in one of those paintings? LOL.

Thanks for sharing this visual treat!! Ommmm...

thanks for reading :)

was interesting, thanks for cool post

thanks for reading :)

Really enjoyed the quote at the end gonna remember that one thanks for the inspiration!

you are welcome :) thanks for reading!

I definetely like that quotation!! If I go to Canada I will be curious to visit anything related to the history of the country and its natives. I previous heard about Buddhism as way of living rather than a religion!!! Useful post Thanks for sharing!!

thanks for reading my post :)

Beauty plane!

Wow!
I will love to see all this painting myself.
But there is a question i want to ask you, did you always take to this trip alone, or you have a partner you travel with ?

I have a partner that I travel with :)

Smile, because i keep wondering how to keep guys away from, since you are very beautiful for you not to have any guy from disturbing at your travel quest.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ella-Kay from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @ella-kay! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I love the picture with the Buddha. :-)

good post, I like your post ..

I need your support please visit my blog https://steemit.com/@muliadi
if you like my post please give upvote, resteem &follow me.
thank you, keep on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.23
ETH 2600.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56