Heritage Park Historical Village in Calgary, Canada! - Retro Cars and Other Cool Things.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

2018-01-25-13-12-05-783.jpg


On my trip to Calgary, the last stop was at the Heritage Park Historical Village. It is a fun park for the whole family, where you can find Vintage Amusement Park rides, Gasoline Alley with a lot of retro cars, Historical Village, and lots of cool shops and restaurants. Exhibits span Western Canadian history from the 1860s to the 1950s. The park opened on July 1, 1964.

We went there for only 3 hours, so we did not see everything, and to be honest I already been to so many heritage towns in my life, so they all look very similar to me. Instead of going inside of old houses, I went to Amusement park, Gasoline Alley, and took a ride on old train (exciting!) and on some old ship ( boring!).
If you ever decide to visit this park, you should know that it is huge! Expect to go there for the full day.

So here are some of the things I saw at Heritage Park Historical Village..

We started with Gasoline Alley..

20170826_150534.jpg

The artifacts displayed at the museum date from the turn of the 20th century to the 1950s and include vintage vehicles, unique gasoline pumps and many products and signage from a host of petroleum companies.

20170826_144953.jpg

20170826_145908.jpg

20170826_145353.jpg

...and here I am sitting in one of the cars at this museum :) I would love to drive a car like that!

20170826_150109.jpg

Later, we went to Vintage Amusement Park..

I had to take a ride on this wooden Ferris Wheel. It wasn't very high, but still fun!

In was build in 1900. Owners used it at carnivals around Ontario. Later, Jim Conklin, of Conklin and Garrett Ltd., purchased the wheel for his antique midway display in 1977, and he donated it to Heritage Park in 1984.

20170826_154811.jpg

The view from it..

20170826_154305.jpg

Then, we walked around the Heritage Village..

20170826_151555.jpg

20170826_152033.jpg

..and finished our visit at this park by riding an old train!

20170826_165747.jpg

20170826_171118.jpg



Pictures were taken with Samsung Galaxy s8.


source

promo11.jpg

CHAT Discord Channel Invite

Sort:  

Waaw @ella-kay really nice trip and lovely post i like vintage objects its obvious u had a lot of fun
Keep up the nice posts 👍🏼

Great. We visited something similar in Germany a month ago. It was great.


looks like a fun experience :) thanks for checking out my post

Yes, it was great. I like things that have to do with history.

Nice).Do you know what year of release this train has?

I tried to find that info, but I could find it :( somewhere between 1860s to the 1950s. I assume it is at least 100 years old.

Hello nice. FOLLOW MY BLOG AND EARN FREE BITCOIN EVERY WEEK! CRYPTONEWS 24/7

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ella-Kay from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Awesome. You just awesome. I love classic car. I hope ur visit my blog.

I love these old signs from petrolium companies even though today I see them as a big part of the problem!

And the beautiful cars!!!

I feel kind of the same when it comes to heritage towns...after so many they start to be a bit similar.

How was that old train ride? I've never been on one like that...well actually maybe in the Andes!

Thanks for sharing

pretty cool ride , but nothing that I did not expect :) thanks for reading

You're welcome! And thanks for C.H.A.T. I''ve met a couple awesome people so far on there!

I love LOVE retro cars so if I'm ever in Canada I am for sure checking this place out! :)

thanks for checking out my post :)

Looks like a cool park. There is a similar museum on the strip in Las Vegas. I'd love to visit here some day. BTW, don't you just love taking pictures with the S8, I know mine got me started taking pictures again, since I have not had a good camera in a while. Great post! @markrmorrisjr

I've been to Vegas like a million times and I never went to that museum! thanks for letting me know, I will check it out next time :) yeah s8 is not bad, but the screen always break. I changed 3 phones already ... and now I have a broken screen again ... I don't like edge screen :(

I bought a wallet case for mine, so it has a padded flap, to keep me from pocket dialing.

hm maybe I should buy something like that too..

The museum is in the hotel in front of the big ferris wheel, cannot remember what that thing is called, but it's cool, on the strip.

woahhhhhhh wicked cool. got a new one for the bucket list now I guess HAHA.

thanks for reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43