My New York City HAIR-STYLE! I am torn between WOODY ALLEN style or a CARIBBEAN RANDOM style?!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Ok, dear Steemians, THE TIME HAS COME!

I am ready to be a brand-new person in 2018. I think I should start with a haircut. Yesterday I had a bad revelation: that my look is not seen as respectable enough to even get inside a big fast fashion apparel store without being addressed like an homeless person.

This is what happened. I walked for miles through the freezing cold of New York, taking pictures as long as my finger could still press the button. Exhausted, I tried to seek refuge inside the big mall by the Rockafeller centre and got inside Zara. There, I sat on a really comfortable sofa, then I stretched my legs and almost felt like taking a nap. As I was sinking deeper and deeper inside the warm embrace of the sofa, I got tapped on the shoulder by the clerk and asked if I needed some help. He wanted me to move from the sofa by the shop window and leave. I felt like a homeless who could intimidate the customers, so I left - searching for a barber.

  • Looking a bit more like a decent human

This is the number one priority in my list of resolutions for the new year. I am not quite happy anymore with the current situation right here.

20171230_114156.jpg

I find myself roaming along Lexington Ave, when I bump into this place. If I have to get a haircut somewhere, I would get it here, where Woody Allen gets his regular morning shave and reads the New York Times. It is located on the corner of the 82nd Street.

I36C0731.JPG

I36C0732.JPG

Unfortunately, they were booked for the all day, and I had to give up on that. I went back home, it started snowing, the city lights go on and Christmas still has a magical, melancholic fascination for me. I ponder on my next move. How can I get back in shape for 2018 and look decent again? Who is gonna give me a proper shave tomorrow, here in Brooklyn?

20171229_174424.jpg

20171229_174247.jpg

Ok, the day has come, today I am stepping in the first barber I find in the Caribbean community of Brooklyn. I feel great and confident as I hear the salsa pumping on the speakers. I took a short video for you to get the vibes of these phenomenal people from Dominican Republic !!!

20171230_121152.jpg

THE BEST DOMINICAN BARBERS [VIDEO]

As you can see, it's pretty busy, but I can wait here. Outside it's still snowing and I am pretty sure I spotted a couple of penguins. Here I can practise my Spanish and listen to the latest hits. In the meantime, I will have to pick a number from this list...

20171230_134727.jpg

Done, I have picked number 3...

20171230_141417.jpg

haircut.001.jpeg

It is going to take a while before I get accustomed to my new personality, and I suddenly feel much colder now that I am out in the snow with my capeza desnuda...but only for few hours more...and then it's summer again!

tonight I have a flight to Buenos Aires, and I am gonna take you with me...

* #steemitbloggers * - @appreciator

All the best, and Steem On!
Alessandro + Elena

Sort:  

Nice story from your photography to your haircut i enjoy it.

Thanks mate, and Happy New Year! From the airport of Medellin..

Welcome and happynew year dear

I'm glad I read this today of all days. I've been forced to close my business today and the subject of change is on my mind. You look great and sharing your journey has helped me today. Thanks @elanahornfilm

Hey @cflclosers what happened to your business? What are you gonna change in 2018?

Looks at least a little warmer in NYC! Im in Chicago and this last week has sucked! I bought my wife flowers and they were almost frozen by the time I got them home, AND PLEASE TAKE ME TO BRAZIL! I need some damn sun!

Don't stop buying flowers for your wife please @adamdonmez !
Happy New Year from the airport...on my way to the next stop: Lima, Peru.

Ill always try to make my wife ahppy even if the flowers I get are half frozen :) Have a nice and safe trip!

Good job friend,,!!!

Thanks @fekaromer and Happy New Year!

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 47.35% Upvote

a good story'👌

perfect job bro

Thanks @crazy3, I appreciate

This post has received gratitude of 0.44 % from @appreciator thanks to: @elenahornfilm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89