Facing my fears #5 - Fighting a VIKING

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

This blog series I'm writing here at the moment is about facing your fears. I am traveling to Scandinavia in order to find out if I am actually brave? I always thought that that was a brave girl but how can I tell without testing it.

vicing.001.jpeg

So far I went to ski jumping, jumped into the snow and frozen lake, and tried the most disgusting dish in the world. Today I want to find out if I am fierce and if I can fight.
All my life I have been a gymnast and sports has always been an integral part to myself understanding. I believe being physically strong helps you being mentally strong. But I have no prior knowledge in fighting techniques nor have I ever trained a fight sport. I may have only tried a computer game once or twice in my life.

I read that there are some of the most skillful computer game designers coming from Norway. The designers and storytellers of making use of the spectacular history of their nation: The Vikings.
These guys a true geniuses so I get in touch with one little independent company that is designing computer games that are taking place in the time of the Vikings. Somehow I am expecting a skinny nerdy person with big glasses (I know this is a cliché but because I don't know what I'm waiting for, I'm looking out this kind of look). But instead, this guy shows up:

Elena_Horn_viking.png

Audun looks like real time Viking to me and he's telling me on the spot that he's not intending to play a computer game about Vikings with me but that we are going to have a real battle with real arms. Real shields. And real leather body protection.
I am not prepared for this. I didn't eat anything for the last six hours and I don't feel remotely strong enough to fight against a guy of at least 120 kg.

Don't worry, my little brother will train you first.

Name is part of a club that reenacts famous battles of the Vikings. Furthermore, they built their own costumes and weapons, everything using exactly the same techniques that the Vikings were using for forging their swords and build their armament. Funnily they're doing all of this in a gym. It is really confusing to see proper looking Vikings in a modern SportsCenter.

Elena_HOrn_gym.png

The Vikings hand me over my fist weapon - and I find it way to big and heavy. But shall I really complain in front of them? Clearly no!

Elen_Horn_sword.png

Vikings don't really have a reputation of being noble warriors: they go all in and split your skull: and this is exactly the atmosphere these guys want to create. Almost.

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 23.58.26.png

Elena_Horn_oslo.png

Audun's little brother trains up for facing Audun later.
It actually takes me by surprise how strong the hits are. In the holidays these guys are storming entire castles and reenact big battles of the Middle Ages. In this scene there actually famous. And I can see why, because they are really threatening and have a sense for details.

Elena_Horn_train.png

Screen Shot 2017-08-06 at 00.22.29.png

Suddenly I manage to hit his hand!

Elena_Horn_fight.png

Elena_Horn_rails.png

The Battle


Audun it's finally asking to fight me. I couldn't wait for this moment to come because my lower arm was already incredibly tired just from training. Furthermore, I was wearing my ski trails this so it was way too hot in the gym.

Audun.png

Elena_Horn_Audun.png

Audun2.png

The fight begins. I wrongly assumed that he's going to treat me softly.
I'm just fight for my life and really don't have control over my sword. I'm even hitting name's head accidentally - but he doesn't even seem to care.

Audun3.png

After one minute I'm feeling my muscles getting tired. How can people fight for hours? My hand is shaking and my feet are getting less and less fast. I should've practiced more before facing a real Viking.

Elena_Horn_Oslo_Fight.png

I clearly lose this battle. No glory for me. Audun enjoys a huge celebration about being victorious in this battle.

Screen Shot 2017-08-06 at 00.26.50.png

Elena_Horn_Oslo2.png

But we make peace at the end. So no long lasting diplomatic problems between the Norwegians and Germans are to be expected.

Elena_Horn_fighter.png

Thank you for reading! I'm glad you enjoyed this post!

All the best
Elena

Thank you very much for Resteeming and Upvoting.

Sort:  

This is sooooo cool! If you want some extraordinary adventures, Elena is the one!!! So brave! Go girl! thank you for sharing your world and your experiences, feel like I'm always travelling with you as well.

xxx

Hi @sunnylife - I'm so content that you enjoy the stories. I write them for people like you who read it and feel like they are also participating in this journey.

I love your ability to be excited! Your comments really make me smile. Your son can be happy to have such a profoundly happy and cheerful mother.

I hope you're enjoying the summer weekend!

Yours, elena

Hello Elena, It makes me happy visiting your home, your smile, your big adventures there and you share it always with joy and that's makes you unique. I feel like I'm watching a movie..hahahah
Not only that I'm having a good time, but also learning other culture as well thru your posts.

Thanks for the kind words....my son is happy as long as its summer vacation with grandma hahaha

Stay safe always xxx

I've seen something like this before. Seems like a ton of fun! I wonder what the cost is. Thanks for sharing!

It is absolutely great. It's so much fun.

In this case I just got in touch with them and they invited me over. So it was FOR FREE and the guys treated me like a friend - or an enemy - depending on the moment ;-)

I believe these big conventions are rather expensive but giving it a try in a training session is also very thrilling! I was really scared and you get this amazing flow in the fight. I loved it!

I hope you get the chance to experience it!

xx
Elena

Looks fun!
Here's 4/5 Polar Bear!

Haha! Thank you!

It was great fun! But next time I won't do this fight in ski trousers. This sucked the last bit of energy out of me.

I was really dead at the end of it!

Xx
Elli

Yep! Start swinging a sword and shield around and you don't need thermals on!

Cheers Elli!

Haha! Thank you!

It was great fun! But next time I won't do this fight in ski trousers. This sucked the last bit of energy out of me.

I was really dead at the end of it!

Xx
Elli

Thanks for sharing this amazing experience with us. You are indeed a fearless lady now :) keep up the great work u r doing. Thanks

Dear @nainaztengra - thank you very much for your encouragement. It feels great if you could enjoy the stories. I'm so glad I met you in the steemit chat. What a lucky day.

And looking forward to reading your next process. And upvote of course, because I truly like them.

Thank you for your warm words.

Xx
Elena

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69812.20
ETH 3376.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78